Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings ~ Backup tab

The BACKUP all Family Historian Custom & Preference Settings button performs the following actions for each installed variant of Family Historian (e.g. Family Historian, Family Historian Demo 3.0, etc.):

  • Within the chosen Backup Data folder creates a sub-folder with the same name as the trailing FH Program Data Folder, which for the standard installation will simply be Family Historian, and holds all the following settings.
  • Includes every folder & file from the FH Program Data Folder, so even modified Standard Diagrams, Fact Sets, Reports, Text Schemes, etc., are preserved, except from FH V6.0 the Map Cache files are excluded.
  • Ensures the Modified and Accessed date-time stamps of each Backup file match each FH Program Data Folder file.
  • If any file is deleted from the FH Program Data Folder, then on the next run the Plugin offers to delete it from the Backup folder too.
  • If any file in the Backup folder is newer than the file being saved from the FH Program Data Folder, then the Plugin asks what to do ~ Copy Old Program File or Keep New Backup File.
  • Any Diagram Background Picture files, or Box Icon files NOT stored within the FH Program Data Folder Icons sub-folder are also preserved.
  • User …AppData\Roaming\Calico Pie\Family Historian and …Public Documents\Calico Pie\Family Historian\Tutorial Files are preserved and managed as above.
  • All the relevant Preference Settings stored in the Windows Registry are preserved in a Registry.keys file.

Understanding the Scope of Features explains exactly which settings are stored where.

Return to Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin Introduction.

Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings - Backup tab

CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International
Runs using DokuWiki Recent changes RSS feed www.rjt.org.uk