* Unable to install V5

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
okerf2691
Silver
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 17:01
Family Historian: None

Unable to install V5

Post by okerf2691 » 18 Sep 2012 20:10

I have bought the full version of Family Historian V5 but it wont install with windows 7.
I own full versions of V3 and V4. I get this error message:

c:windowssystem32mfc100.dll is either not designed to run on
Windows or it contains an error. Try installing the program again using the
original installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support.

Also: Cannot find import; DLL may be missing or corrupt, or wrong version File 'mfc100.dll error 0

I have tried to re-install a few times.


ID:6490

avatar
Bonzo
Diamond
Posts: 79
Joined: 06 Feb 2012 21:47
Family Historian: V5

Unable to install V5

Post by Bonzo » 18 Sep 2012 21:50

I had a look through Google for mfc100.dll problems and one person had problems with AVG but most seem to think it was a 'microsoft c++ runtime' problem.

User avatar
PeterR
Megastar
Posts: 1051
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 16:55
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Northumberland, UK

Unable to install V5

Post by PeterR » 18 Sep 2012 22:15

Peter Richmond (researching Richmond, Bulman, Martin, Driscoll, Baxter, Hall, Dales, Tyrer)

User avatar
NickWalker
Megastar
Posts: 1163
Joined: 02 Jan 2004 17:39
Family Historian: V6
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Unable to install V5

Post by NickWalker » 18 Sep 2012 22:42

Do you have Windows 7 Service Pack 1 installed? (If you right-click Computer in the Start menu and click Properties then it should say Service Pack 1 under the first section titled 'Windows edition')

If you don't have SP1 then even if installing it doesn't solve the problem, it is still a good idea to have the latest service pack.

Nick
Nick Walker
Ancestral Sources Developer

http://www.ancestralsources.com

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Unable to install V5

Post by Jane » 19 Sep 2012 09:25

That's actually a Microsoft package which FH installs if it's not already on.

Try downloading and installing the package from Microsoft and then installing V5.

You can download from

http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download ... px?id=5555
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
okerf2691
Silver
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 17:01
Family Historian: None

Unable to install V5

Post by okerf2691 » 19 Sep 2012 20:18

Thanks everyone for your advice tried all of them
but none successful yet. I uninstalled V5 and tried V4 it worked perfectly.
Jane I downloaded the pack you suggested but it says I have
a later version on my machine.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16604
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Unable to install V5

Post by tatewise » 20 Sep 2012 11:10

I have checked what I have installed on Windows 7 versus that download.

The Windows 7 > Control Panel > Programs & Features say:
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86 Redistributable - 10.0.40219

The download file vcredist_x86.exe > Properties > Details say:
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86 Redistributable - 10.0.30319.1

So the download is an earlier version than my installed version, just as you discovered.

You could try this download link to the SP1 version 10.0.40219
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=8328

If installing that does not solve the problem, try using Control Panel > Programs & Features to Uninstall the package.
Then either simply install FH V5, or install that 10.0.40219 download again, followed by FH V5.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
Dagwood
Superstar
Posts: 302
Joined: 30 Nov 2009 17:37
Family Historian: V6.2

Unable to install V5

Post by Dagwood » 20 Sep 2012 13:21

Nick Walker said:
Do you have Windows 7 Service Pack 1 installed? (If you right-click Computer in the Start menu and click Properties then it should say Service Pack 1 under the first section titled 'Windows edition')

If you don't have SP1 then even if installing it doesn't solve the problem, it is still a good idea to have the latest service pack.

Nick
Thanks for that suggestion Nick. Following your instructions I found I did not have SP1 which I will download later but am puzzled as to why I don't have it as I have Windows Updates on an automatic update basis. Apologies to okerf2691 for inserting this into his V5 problem thread!
Dagwood

avatar
okerf2691
Silver
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 17:01
Family Historian: None

Unable to install V5

Post by okerf2691 » 20 Sep 2012 21:48

I followed the advise given by Tatewise and this has fixed the problem.
Thanks again to everyone for your help.

Post Reply