* Adding a "remembrance" note about a person

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
KArthur
Silver
Family Historian: V7

Adding a "remembrance" note about a person

Post by KArthur »

I am just learning to use Family Historian 7. I brought my data over from TMG The Master Genealogist. So far, I am liking FH much better.

I am trying to figure out where/how would be the best place to enter a first hand "remembrance" about a person. I have some notes that people have told me about something a person did or said or maybe something peculiar about the way they would act. I could enter this as a note on the persons main tab, but I thought there might be a better way that I could tie it back to the person that gave me the information.

Thanks.
Kirk
KFN
Superstar

Re: Adding a "remembrance" note about a person

Post by KFN »

First of all I would consider the “remembrance” as a source, just like a letter or other authored document.

As a source, it can be linked to the person (or persons) it discusses. I would then scan a copy of the document and attach it to either the source or the facts that it discusses.

You can also extract specific words or sentences out of the document and add them as text to facts, this way the text can be added to reports and books.
BobWard
Superstar
Family Historian: V6.2

Post by BobWard »

I created a custom "Biography" Fact for Family Historian. I then add that Fact to everyone in my FH database. Once you create and open that Fact, you can write anything that you want about that person.

As KFN states, you can also attach any scanned copies of notes, letters, etc. to the Biography fact as Source documents. You can make written reference to those Source documents in the text that you add to the Biography.
Mark1834
Megastar

Post by Mark1834 »