* Selection of records for charts

Questions about creating, customising and using diagrams and charts
egn
Gold
Family Historian: V7

Selection of records for charts

Post by egn »

Hi,

I am new to FH and I have probably a dumb question regarding the selection of records for the diagram/charts. ;)

There are a lot of predefined charts available, that do their own record selection. This gives a quick solution to most requirements.

But how is it possible to modify the selection of a specific chart or even make a chart/report with a custom record selection?

I thought I can make query to find all records and then just select one of the predefined charts types to display the Result Set as a chart. But I didn't find any function for this.

So I looked into plugin development, but didn't find any example that could used as template. Of course, the data selection part could be done and a report be generated, but I didn't find any specific information how to pass the data to a "Chart-API". Ideally it would be just a table of record references and the records would appear as diagram with all existing links. The presentation then could be modified with the diagram options.

Is something like this available?

Best
Emil
Emil
LornaCraig
Megastar

Re: Selection of records for charts

Post by LornaCraig »

It is not possible to create a diagram from a predefined list of records, but there are various techniques which can be used to customise a diagram to limit the number of records it displays.
  • Click the expansion button above an Ancestor box or below a Descendant box to hide the entire branch above/below that box.
  • Right click on a box to hide that box.
  • Use Tools > How Related to create a diagram showing just the path between two selected Individuals. There are options to display the route with/without siblings or spouses.
If you can give an example of the kind of selection you want to make we might be able to suggest how best to achieve it.
Lorna
jelv
Megastar