* Charts of DNA matches

Questions about creating, customising and using diagrams and charts
dichorionic
Gold
Family Historian: V7

Charts of DNA matches

Post by dichorionic »

I wonder if someone can help me. I have an unexplained DNA match, almost certainly a NPE, that I've been researching for a couple of years. Using Shared Matches and the Leeds technique I have narrowed down the options significantly. However, I would like to draw a chart limited to my DNA matches and their forbears to show my connections with them graphically. I don't want to print a tree of everyone in my antecedent four generations, just those of proven matches. I have applied both the DNA Marker to every match as well as a custom DNA Flag. Is there a way to limit a chart to the matches?
jelv
Megastar

Re: Charts of DNA matches

Post by jelv »

I asked about this a bit back. It seems the only way to do it is to make a copy of the project and delete all the individuals you don't want in the chart to leave just the ones you want.
John Elvin
dichorionic
Gold

Post by dichorionic »

Thank you John. Ye gods! Time to get out the ruler and coloured pencils.
Mark1834
Megastar

Post by Mark1834 »

I have a custom attribute, DNA match (Ancestry), where the value is the relationship with myself, and a custom diagram where the box is coloured yellow if this fact is present, and green where the individual is a Most Recent Common Ancestor witness to that fact as per the recent discussion. I then produce a diagram starting with the relevant Most Recent Common Ancestor(s), and manually hide all the boxes relating to branches that have no match. Finally, I save it using Diagram > Save Diagram As... > Family Historian Chart..., with one chart per common ancestor.

An example of the final product is shown below. This public version uses a fully redacted text scheme that shows only the DNA match value, but it can of course contain any detail that you wish.