* How to record slaves in Family Historian

Got general Family History research questions - this is the place
divester
Gold
Family Historian: V7

How to record slaves in Family Historian

Post by divester »

I recently discovered an ancestor who owned several slaves and bequeathed two of them by first name to a couple of his children. Any suggestions about how to record enslaved persons in Family Historian? I could address the subject as Possessions under Facts, but that seems inadequate and off. I could record them as Unrelated Persons, but that too seems to miss the mark. And as I'm fairly new at Family Historian, I don't see how Unrelated Persons can be linked to the person owning the slaves.

I tried a word search in the Forum and Knowledge Base to no avail. The software indeed insisted on reading "slave" as "save."

Any help will be much appreciated.
David Ivester
Lawyer and amateur family historian
Mark1834
Megastar

Re: How to record slaves in Family Historian

Post by Mark1834 »

An interesting question.

Context is probably everything here. Were the enslaved people simply property that was bought and sold, or is there any evidence of relationships with the family? Remember that the role of the historian is to record facts as they were at the time, not filtered through the lens of current fashion or sensitivities. Are you recording it just for your information, or will it be shared with other people who may be offended by a straight factual record?

On the assumption that there were not relationships with the "owning" family, I would add the enslaved people as unrelated individuals, and link them with their "owner" under the standard Possessions attribute. Open the attribute note and create a link to each enslaved person in the rich text editor, along with an explanatory narrative. You could mark the attribute as private if you prefer to exclude it from summary reports.
Mark Draper
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar

Post by ColeValleyGirl »