* Source templates

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
mezentia
Superstar
Family Historian: V7

Source templates

Post by mezentia »

I have been looking at switching from generic sources to templated sources in future. However, I have been using FH for many, many years now and my principal project has grown to over 6,600 families, 20,000 individuals, 10,000 sources, and 71,000 citations, and as I explore more, reaching further back and explore more of the collateral lines, these figures will only grow larger day by day. Should I migrate existing generic sources, e.g., BMD and Census from generic sources to templated sources, or should I just leave the existing generic sources alone and continue with templated sources? I would appreciate any ideas, advice, suggestions and comments from those who have faced similar decisions.
tatewise
Megastar

Re: Source templates

Post by tatewise »

Have you studied the FHUG Knowledge Base article on Sources and Citations in Version 7 (for Upgraders) which gives some pros and cons, especially in the Should I Use Source Templates? section.

What do you perceive as the advantages of switching to Templates Sources?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
Mark1834
Megastar

Post by Mark1834 »

Personally, I don't think it is worth it. Mixing generic and templated sources for the same source type (e.g. census) is perfectly possible, but it is messy, as you get incompatible formats that display inconsistently and have to be queried separately.

It's possible to convert generic to templated, but only if they are structed in a highly consistent way, and it needs a dedicated plugin. Classic Catch-22 - if your existing generic sources are highly structured, you may not need templates in the first place.