* using AS

AS allows faster and more convenient creation of source records for Family Historian.
Post Reply
avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

using AS

Post by Ross697 » 10 Jan 2022 12:51

Hi, I used to use AS for inputting , but when upgraded to the latest FH version this was stopped for some reason.
I have just downloaded the latest version of AS, but when I try to use I get an error message saying
" Error E:\system volume information is denied", and I am unable to open my FH program through AS.
If I open As via my FH program, I can open Version 5 but not the latest version
Any ideas
John

User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 2335
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V7
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: using AS

Post by LornaCraig » 10 Jan 2022 13:21

It sounds as if you still only have AS version 5 installed.
Just to be clear, when you say you have downloaded the latest version of AS do you mean the latest version of the AS program itslef (which is V7.2.7) or the latest version of the plugin which can be used to launch AS from within FH?
Lorna

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: using AS

Post by tatewise » 10 Jan 2022 13:23

Have you downloaded AS v7 from Ancestral Sources v7.2 and installed it using an Windows Administrator account as explained in that download page?

It sounds as if you still have AS v5 installed and so have not yet actually installed AS v7.

BTW: If you have installed FH v7 then please update your Profile shown on the right of your posting.
Click your username, navigate to Edit profile, select the FH version, and scroll down to SUBMIT.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 10 Jan 2022 14:01

Hi,
I have unstalled As and then reinstalled it from the AS site, as per the info there, but it is still coming up with the same error message as already posted

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 10 Jan 2022 14:03

Also, I tried the right click on the icon and running as admin but still get same error message

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: using AS

Post by tatewise » 10 Jan 2022 15:29

The error message you quoted is not one that I recognise having been reported before, so the following is guesswork.

Make sure that you have uninstalled all copies and variants of AS.
AS has both 32-bit and 64-bit variants that may be installed in C:\Program Files\... and C:\Program Files (x86)\...
Do you know which variant you installed before and which just now?

Did you once have an E: drive where AS held its working folders?
Does that E: drive still exist?
If this is the cause of the problem then it may need a Windows Registry change to fix things.

Hopefully, the AS author Nick Walker will see this thread and provide more insight.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 10 Jan 2022 16:01

no I have never had or have an E drive. I install AS on the C drive with shortcut on the desk top, which is where FH is installed as well.
John

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 10 Jan 2022 16:02

I installed the 64 versionon both occassions

avatar
neil40
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 12 Apr 2012 13:42
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by neil40 » 11 Jan 2022 14:36

Ross697 wrote:
10 Jan 2022 16:01
no I have never had or have an E drive. I install AS on the C drive with shortcut on the desk top, which is where FH is installed as well.
John
John, if you right click the Desktop Icon and select properties, does both 'Target' and 'Start in' begin with C:\Program Files\Ancestral Sources ?
Screenshot 2022-01-11 142354.jpg
Screenshot 2022-01-11 142354.jpg (26.32 KiB) Viewed 439 times
E: drive could possibly refer to an external drive such as a portable hard drive or USB stick, that could have been in at the time it was installed, and somehow referring to that?
Last edited by neil40 on 11 Jan 2022 14:48, edited 1 time in total.
Neil Grantham
Researching Grantham, Skuce, Barrow and Birchall

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: using AS

Post by tatewise » 11 Jan 2022 14:42

BTW: neil40, see Forum Usage Tips for Attachments and Taking Screenshots.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
neil40
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 12 Apr 2012 13:42
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by neil40 » 11 Jan 2022 14:49

tatewise wrote:
11 Jan 2022 14:42
BTW: neil40, see Forum Usage Tips for Attachments and Taking Screenshots.
Thanks, couldn't see the attachments link for looking! :shock:
Neil Grantham
Researching Grantham, Skuce, Barrow and Birchall

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 12 Jan 2022 13:26

Hi,
yes both are as your screenshot

User avatar
NickWalker
Megastar
Posts: 1571
Joined: 02 Jan 2004 17:39
Family Historian: V7
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: using AS

Post by NickWalker » 12 Jan 2022 22:27

Are you using Windows 10?

Try renaming the Ancestral Sources folder in your Documents folder (e.g. To Ancestral sources.old) and see if that makes a difference.
Nick Walker
Ancestral Sources Developer

http://www.ancestralsources.com

avatar
Ross697
Gold
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jul 2016 10:52
Family Historian: V7

Re: using AS

Post by Ross697 » 13 Jan 2022 09:49

Hi,
Am using win 10
Have tried what you suggested re re-namiing folder but still get error message re the E drive
Also now whilst I still get the E error message, AS allows me to open the FH project folder, but it is not finding my actual working file etc

avatar
jelv
Diamond
Posts: 83
Joined: 03 Feb 2020 22:57
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mere, Wiltshire

Re: using AS

Post by jelv » 13 Jan 2022 12:58

If you start the latest version of AS from the Windows start menu (not through FH) and go in to Tools, Options, do any of the folders refer to the E: drive?
AS options.png
AS options.png (14.31 KiB) Viewed 216 times
John Elvin

Post Reply