* How do you include DNA results

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 11 Nov 2019 18:17

Hi All,

I can see discussion on DNA. So does anyone have a good way to include DNA results in FH projects ?

I am interested in including not just Y-SNP terminal haplogroups but Y-STR scores if at all practical.

How do folk handle Y-STR, Y-SNP, autosomal and mtDNA data ?

George

User avatar
wulliam
Famous
Posts: 104
Joined: 03 Oct 2009 10:29
Family Historian: V6.2
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by wulliam » 12 Nov 2019 19:45

For the time being I've put them in double square brackets in a simple note:
[[111 marker Y-DNA results DYS393: 13, DYS390: 24,...............]]

I don't know that that's particularly 'good' but it means I've got them stored, but they'll never appear in a report or webpage.
William

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 12 Nov 2019 21:32

Hi William,

That's a good start. It makes sense.

So do you know many of your cousins scores or mismatched STRs ?

George

User avatar
wulliam
Famous
Posts: 104
Joined: 03 Oct 2009 10:29
Family Historian: V6.2
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by wulliam » 12 Nov 2019 21:55

I'm just starting out - I've done a Y111 test for myself in the hope of linking in to the landed gentry Cummings of Moray - I'm sure the link exists. I've also had a test done on a Macleod cousin from Lewis as I'm doing some in-depth research there - there are 6 significant families who I believe are one extended family, and I'd like to demonstrate it through genetics.
But there's lots to do, and it's expensive!
William

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16884
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by tatewise » 12 Nov 2019 22:28

George, if you use the Search options to look for DNA postings you will find some that talk about using custom facts for specifically recording DNA details and associating Individuals with matching DNA.
e.g. In the Extended Set of facts there is a DNA Markers fact already defined.
See Knowledge Base > Custom Facts from other Products.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 12 Nov 2019 22:35

Hi William,

FTDNA have a sale on at present. They have a very good offer on Big-Y700 at $229 for anyone upgrading form Y-STR111. They have reduced the cost of the test by separating access to the BAM file which not everyone wants. With these prices anyone can now go straight for a Big-Y700 test which by-passes the previous Y-STR tests as it includes scores for 700 Y-STRs.

Have a read of this - https://dna-explained.com/2019/11/12/bi ... tats-sale/

The test gives an individuals Terminal haplotype and some Private Variants, or previously unknown SNP markers, and it is these I am interested in recording in FH. Is there anyone recording Terminal Haplogroups and Private Variants ?

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 12 Nov 2019 22:57

Thanks Mike. More reading.

I would like to talk to anyone that uses this fact set.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16884
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by tatewise » 12 Nov 2019 23:04

What do you want to know about the Extended Set of facts?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 12 Nov 2019 23:27

I want to see if people use it. What their opinion is of how well it caters for their needs.

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 13 Nov 2019 22:59

Anyone have any clues about what FH.v7 includes for DNA researchers ?

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7785
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by Jane » 15 Nov 2019 08:03

Most of the new tools I saw at RootsTech are for data Analysis. So functions for blood relations and MTDNA and Y detection, plus diagrams using those functions and some new reports. I envisage using Notes with the new Record Linking in notes to link across "gaps" where you know the common ancestors, this is similar to what I do now, but will mean I have l"live" links in the note.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 15 Nov 2019 09:44

Jane,

what is it you record ? Do you use DYS scores, terminal haplogroups & private variants or reported matches ?

How do you add the details ?

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7785
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by Jane » 15 Nov 2019 12:17

Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16884
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by tatewise » 15 Nov 2019 15:25

I have added Knowledge Base > Recording DNA Matches that is currently little more than a placeholder with cross-references to related tools and topics.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 15 Nov 2019 19:02

Jane,

have you uploaded your Ancestry results to FTDNA ? They do a Free Transfer and then you can join surname, haplogroup and geographic projects. They charge a small amount for use of their functions. It will give you access to their database for reviewing any autosomal matches. If you have access to any Y-DNA they have a sale on at the moment.

I had a quick look at your website earlier and was impressed by what you've achieved. I'm off now to have another look.

avatar
E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 884
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V6.1
Location: London
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by E Wilcock » 15 Nov 2019 19:49

I use Jane's system which is much appreciated.
I was tested by ancestry but ulploaded to ged Match and FT DNA where there are DNA projects revelvant to my family.
However my brother being in USA is about to be tested with 23 and me. I dont know that they allow one to upload results from elsewhere.

avatar
GeorgeJ
Platinum
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 21:48
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Hertfordshire UK
Contact:

Re: How do you include DNA results

Post by GeorgeJ » 15 Nov 2019 20:08

I think FTDNA still accept 23 and Me tests. What is he hoping to discover ? Where are your roots ?

I suggest everyone joins any obvious surname projects but also a haplogroup and a geographic project. You can join as many projects as you want.

Post Reply