*Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 09 Feb 2019 03:26

HELP

I've seen this Knowledge Base > Standard Migration Steps
and this looks quiet complicated for an OAP but I will try to follow it BUT on my old computer (I have to return my 'new' computer to the seller) I have a very old version of FH with several upgrades so my question is
Can I just use the migration instructions without doing anything to the old one first?

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 09 Feb 2019 11:15

Welcome to the FHUG Sheila.

No sorry, it is NOT possible to migrate backwards from FH V6 to a much earlier version for several critical reasons.
There are many features of FH V6 that are simply not supported in earlier versions, so your data would get corrupted.

The best option as explained in Knowledge Base > Version 6 Migration Steps is to install FH V6 on your original older PC.
You can install your Upgrade V5 to V6 installation media with your V5 and V6 licence keys on top of the earlier version.
Please confirm that original older PC is NOT running Windows XP, because that would not work.

I know it is a bit confusing. but in the migration instructions, 'old PC' refers to the latest PC you are returning, and 'new PC' refers to your original older PC.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 10 Feb 2019 08:22

Hi Mike

Help. I can't do it.

One question I can't find the answer to is:- it says to use 'Options Tab' in the Backup and restore plug in but I can't see one.

I've tried to use a free trial on the computer that I will need to use from this week but even that doesn't work it just reverts to version 2.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 10 Feb 2019 11:04

Sheila, it would help if you could give more details of what you cannot do.

I don't understand why even the 30-day Free Trial would not install.
Did you Run the downloaded installation file from an Administrator account?
What error messages were produced?

What Windows version is running on your original PC? ( Is it XP, Vista, 7, 8.1, or 10 )

I assume you have progressively upgraded from FH V2 right through to FH V6.
So somewhere you should have your Upgrade V5 to V6 installation media and licence keys.
It might be an installation CD or an upgrade_fh_v5_to_v6.0.0-dl.exe file downloaded from Calico Pie.
That is what you need to install on your original PC, and then update to the latest free download.
See Knowledge Base > Family Historian Installation Details and follow the flowchart carefully.
Maybe you cannot find your installation media and licence keys?
If so then checkout Knowledge Base > Family Historian Licence Problems.

Did you download the Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin from the Plugin Store and Run it?
It is nothing to do with the File > Backup/Restore commands.
Anyway, until you have FH V6 installed on both PC you will not be able to migrate anything.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 10 Feb 2019 17:10

Hi Mike

Thank you for this help


I now realize I did not complete the installation of the free trial and version 6 is now running, using the free trial. - blame age!!!!

I've tried to enter the key for the one I bought on 21st Dec - not sure if it's accepted it but if I get a message asking me to purchase again I will be back in touch with you.

Thanks for helping this OAP who tries to do her best with modern technology!!!!!!!

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 10 Feb 2019 17:55

As explained in Knowledge Base > Family Historian Installation Details you simply CAN NOT use the Licence Key for an Upgrade V5 to V6 you bought in December in conjunction with the Free Trial.
It will only work if what you bought in December was a Full Licence download from Calico Pie, and NOT a CD.
As I said before, the best method is you MUST use the installation media you bought in December.

Please re-read my last posting and follow the instructions carefully, otherwise this will take longer than necessary
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 10 Feb 2019 18:04

The one I bought in Dec was NOT for an upgrade V5-V6. It was for new version 6 because I was using such an old one (2.3).

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 10 Feb 2019 18:08

OK, as long as what you bought was NOT a CD, then the Licence Name and Registration Key should have worked.
If you bought a CD then you MUST use that.

Once it has installed, then in FH use Help > About Family Historian and check the Version shown at top is 6.2.7.

Now follow the steps in Knowledge Base > Family Historian V5 & V6 Migration Guide.
Take them one at a time - they are not as tricky as they may sound - but don't skip any steps.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

add a fact not working

Postby SheilaBeer » 13 Feb 2019 11:55

Sorry Mike, it's me again.

I've finally got round to working on FH on the 'old' computer.

Everything is working fine EXCEPT the 'add fact' facility. I can add notes, new people, children etc. I can also delete facts, delete people etc. in fact everything else seems to be working fine.

I've closed and saved my file, reopened it and done the same with another file and the 'add a fact' does not work on any of my files. I've also re-started my computer.

Can you help, please?

Sheila

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer ~ add a fact not working

Postby tatewise » 13 Feb 2019 13:26

Ah yes! That sometimes happens when upgrading from FH V2 to FH V6.
See Knowledge Base > V2/V3 Upgrade to V5/V6 Upsets Fact Sets.
That says to use Windows File Explorer and copy the standard fact definitions file:
From C:\Program Files (x86)\Family Historian\Fact Types\Standard.fhf
To C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian\Fact Types\Standard\Standard.fhf

If you cannot find the C:\ProgramData folder then it may be hidden so follow the advice in Knowledge Base > Notes.

If you need any extra help to achieve any of the above then let me know.

BTW:
Did you use the Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin to migrate customisations from PC to PC?
If not, then I suggest you do so, because that should also fix this Add Facts problem.
That is why I did not make you aware of the possibility of the Add Facts problem.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

add fact

Postby SheilaBeer » 13 Feb 2019 14:49

Thanks for this help

I copied and pasted file with (x86) to the (Calico pie) one.

Still not working.

I've now got 3 files - see enclosed screenshots
Attachments
Screenshot (17).png
Screenshot (17).png (109.34 KiB) Viewed 322 times
Screenshot (18).png
Screenshot (18).png (118.44 KiB) Viewed 322 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 13 Feb 2019 15:16

That is because you are not copying the correct file to the correct folder:.
You seem to be copying the Fact Types folder.

The file to copy is
Standard.fhf

The from folder is
C:\Program Files (x86)\Family Historian\Fact Types\

The to folder is
C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian\Fact Types\Standard\

Standard Facts.png
Standard Facts.png (42.08 KiB) Viewed 320 times
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 13 Feb 2019 17:24

this is what I found on my computer so before I get it wrong can you be specific in regard to my files

I'm not too good with computers - you can tell can't you!
Attachments
Screenshot (20).png
Screenshot (20).png (130.71 KiB) Viewed 310 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 13 Feb 2019 20:00

OK, in that search window right-click on the 3rd row Standard.fhf file and select Copy.
Then right-click on 1st row Standard.fhf file and select Open file location.
Finally right-click on empty part of that window and select Paste then OK warning about replacing existing file.

You still have not explaned why you did not use the Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin that should have fixed that problem and guranteed all other custom settings were migrated from other PC, as per the migration guide.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 13 Feb 2019 21:12

That's it thanks

I tried to do as advised to transfer between computers but just couldn't. In one of the earlier messages I said that I could not find an 'options tab' in 'Back up and Restore' plug in.

As I said I've downloaded free trial to try to overcome my incompetence.

Thanks again Mike

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 13 Feb 2019 21:34

Did you download the Plugin from https://www.family-historian.co.uk/pluginstore/plugin-entry?id=223?
The screenshot there clearly shows the Options tab and what the Plugin looks like - did you see that?
When you complained about the missing tab, I gave you the link above to follow earlier - did you do so?
Perhaps you downloaded the similarly named Backup Family Historian Settings Plugin by mistake.
Perhaps you are unfamiliar with running Plugins via the Tools > Plugins command.
See Knowledge Base > Downloading and Using Plugins.

I am still uncertain about whether your FH version is licenced or still in trial mode.
If you can please persevere with running the Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin not only will it migrate your customisations, but will prove your FH is licenced, because the trial version will not run Plugins at all.

It also sounds like you never found your original FH installation media?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 13 Feb 2019 23:38

Tried that again, twice, but that screen print on the download page does not appear it just goes straight into my files. - see screen print

It does state version 2.8 and requires v5. I'm on version 6.2.7

What about if I download another plug in specifically for version 6? If that worked would that tell us if I'm on trial version or licenced version

On 'help' it does say it's registered to me - see screen print
Attachments
Screenshot (23).png
Screenshot (23).png (192.92 KiB) Viewed 260 times
Screenshot (22).png
Screenshot (22).png (206.18 KiB) Viewed 260 times

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 14 Feb 2019 09:31

Downloaded 'Check for New Search the Internet Settings' plug in.
and upon opening it I got this message (see screenprint) it never gave me the option to 'Run' and 'Install'
Attachments
Screenshot (24).png
Screenshot (24).png (189.93 KiB) Viewed 236 times

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7416
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby Jane » 14 Feb 2019 09:36

Once the plugin is installed, the message in your last post, it will appear in the Plugin list accessed from the
Tools>Plugins menu option in Family Historian.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 14 Feb 2019 11:30

Sheila, I wonder if you are overlooking an important aspect of these postings.
When it says see Knowledge Base > Downloading and Using Plugins.
Do you click on that orange text and follow the link to the advice provided?
If you do that with the orange link above it provides a video tutorial on how to download, install, and run Plugins.
I suspect that is the advice you are missing.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 14 Feb 2019 16:46

Mike/Jane


The 2 plugins I tried this morning seemed to have worked - Jane said they would appear here if they did. - see screen print.

So can I assume that I am all up and running and am working under the Licence I purchased on 21st Dec, order #4581?

Thanks for everyone's help


Sheila
Attachments
Screenshot (25).png
Screenshot (25).png (196.04 KiB) Viewed 202 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 14 Feb 2019 17:27

Yes, if Plugins will install and Run then you are fully licenced OK.

Now it should be possible to follow the Knowledge Base > Standard Migration Steps and use the Plugin to migrate your custom settings.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 14 Feb 2019 20:27

That is exactly what I tried to do. When I reported that I couldn't do it and that the 'options' choice did not appear.

I should point out that the old (FAULTY) computer is no longer in my possession - it went on Wednesday back to the seller.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 15201
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby tatewise » 14 Feb 2019 21:35

So you select Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings as shown in your latest screenshot and click the Run button.
That displays an ~ IMPORTANT PLEASE READ ~ message.
After reading that you click the OK Continue button below.
That displays a window with three tabs, Backup, Restore & Options near the top, that you can click.
It should be just like the screenshot at https://www.family-historian.co.uk/pluginstore/plugin-entry?id=223.

Where in the above sequence of steps does it not work for you?

Please post a screenshot of where it gets stuck.

It is worth persevering with this because it is important to know how to backup your settings just as much as your Projects.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

SheilaBeer
Gold
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Feb 2019 03:05
Family Historian: V6

Re: Transfer downloaded Version 6 to previously used computer

Postby SheilaBeer » 14 Feb 2019 22:16

Done it


Return to “General Usage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests