*Running repeated queries

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 690
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V6.1
Location: London
Contact:

Running repeated queries

Postby E Wilcock » 07 Dec 2018 10:10

This is not a problem but I would like to know what more experienced fh users do when they may wish to identify the most recently used query in order to edit the final row and repeat it? It is something I am doing a lot.

And whether anyone has a system for naming queries?

Can one perhaps open the custom query results in the left margin and maybe then save it as a new custom query?

I'd like to tidy things up. I am getting a multiplication of saved custom queries, not systematically named.
If I save results to a named list, I multiply my named lists too.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 14837
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Running repeated queries

Postby tatewise » 07 Dec 2018 11:16

The easiest way to keep track of recently used Queries is to lock their Query Window.
Either right-click on the window icon in the Navigation bar on the left and choose Lock Window (prevent reuse),
or select that window icon and choose Window > Lock Window (prevent reuse) from menu bar.
That adds a small padlock symbol to the icon in the Navigation bar.
Then when you run other Queries that window will not get overwritten.
Use the same options the unlock the window.
Note that you can still Close a Locked window.

BTW: The same trick can be applied to any type of window.

Yes, you can click on any existing Query Window icon on the left and then use Save As Custom Query.
The window is not just the Result Set but holds the entire Query with all its tabs (General, Columns, Rows).

Naming new items and deleting redundant ones is the same as for anything on your PC.
You just need to be organised and think systematically about what naming conventions will help you.
Unfortunately, you cannot group Queries into logical Folders like you can PC files.
So the only alternative is to start the Name of related Queries with the same keywords so they get listed together.

It is a good idea to use the General tab to describe what the Query is meant to do.
Then when you come back to it much later you can decide whether it is still needed or not.
You can also tick the Read Only option to prevent precious Queries being accidentally edited, but they can still be deleted, so make sure you backup your Queries.

Similarly, for Named Lists, use systematic names and right click to choose List Properties for List Notes about their purpose.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 690
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V6.1
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Running repeated queries

Postby E Wilcock » 07 Dec 2018 13:44

Thank you so much Mike . I didnt know anything about locking windows and will investigate.

Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 578
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Swansea

Re: Running repeated queries

Postby Gowermick » 07 Dec 2018 14:31

On the matter of naming queries, I prefix the most often used ones with an underscore character in their title, so that they appear at the top of the alphabetical list of queries.
Mike Loney

Using FH 6.2.7, with CC 6.7.37 Windows 10.0.14393 Build14393, LibreOffice 6.0.5(x64), Firefox 61.0.1(64Bit) & Thunderbird 52.9.1
Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com

User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 1378
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Running repeated queries

Postby LornaCraig » 07 Dec 2018 14:38

If you frequently want to lock a Query window you may find it easier to use Tools > Workspaces and in the column headed Re-use of Open Windows Permitted set the option to No for the Query Window. This will, in effect, lock Query Windows automatically so that you don't have to remember to do it manually. (Although with this method you don't get the padlock symbol in the Navigation Bar). As Mike says, you can still close a locked window if you want to.

Note that in the Workspace preferences the same can be done for most other window types, the only exceptions being the Focus Window and the Records Window.
Lorna


Return to “General Usage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests