*"Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

AS allows faster and more convenient creation of source records for Family Historian.
bonalymac

"Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 29 May 2018 09:44

Not sure if this is the right forum, but no doubt you guys will move it if necessary.

I have just been entering a couple of Marriage details using Ancestral sources (v5.2 64 bit). I then closed AS and returned to FH (v6.2.6) and did the normal update.

For the first time ever, I received an error message

Family Historian Exception Report - Tuesday 29 May 2018
=========================================================

Lines marked "EXCLUDED:" indicate data which has not
been loaded, and explain why it wasn't loaded.

Indented lines marked "EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE:" indicate
data lines which are not necessarily invalid in
themselves but which have had to be excluded as a
consequence of excluding other lines.

Lines marked "INFO ONLY:" indicate data that has
been successfully loaded, but where special action
was needed to load it (e.g. GEDCOM errors detected
and automatically corrected by Family Historian).

---------------------------------------------------------

Record Type=Individual. Gedcom Id=I828. Record Number=800.
l.12184 - EXCLUDED: invalid line : "(Retired)"
l.12185 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 12 SEP 1963"
l.12186 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S157@"
l.12187 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3"

---------------------------------------------------------
The numeric portion of Gedcom Ids have been retained as Record Ids. Use these to match entries to records.


I was also recommended to validate the file which I did and it reported no errors.

I looked at the Forum for "EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE", and got 17 hits, all of which I've read, but while they are similar, they are not the same as my report.

https://www.fhug.org.uk/forum/search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&keywords=EXCLUDED+BRANCH+LINE

The line 12185 is clearly from the last Marriage details that I input. But other than that I can see little difference in this record from others I have input that might suggest why I got an error, on this record.

I have closed and re-opened the file, and no error is now reported. I also have re-booted the PC as well just in case it clears any gremlins. (I'm running Win 10 which is kept up-to-date, and good virus software)

I have plenty of backups if I need to revert to a previous version, but presumably I would potentially just generate the same error when I came to input this record.

Any suggestions as to what the issue may have been would be appreciated.

Thanks

Colin

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7287
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby Jane » 29 May 2018 10:58

I am guessing, but I suspect you might have some how got a new line character in when you put (retired) into AS? As it looks like the word retired is on a line of it's own and "confused" FH when it loaded the file.

Did you cut and paste the information into AS?
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 29 May 2018 11:24

Now you mention it I almost certainly did. I was copying from a Word extract file I created as it was a new record I couldn't get an image for.

How can I correct the problem? Delete the citation and start to enter it again would seem the obvious one.

Thanks

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7287
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby Jane » 29 May 2018 11:33

Probably just a quick to simply go to the entry for person I828 and add in the information on the Occupation and add the source you created and the retired bit.

I'll move this over to Ancestral Sources, as Nick might want to make a note to remove newlines when data is pasted in.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 14440
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby tatewise » 29 May 2018 13:34

It must be a bit more subtle than just a newline.
I have tried various ways of pasting in CR, LF, and other control characters, but cannot repeat the symptoms.

Colin, can you attach the Word document containing the offending occupation (retired) text, so we can analyse exactly what was pasted.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 29 May 2018 13:59

Thanks to both of you for your help.

It certainly appears to be something to do with this issue as the retired has not appeared
FJK.jpg
FJK.jpg (159.24 KiB) Viewed 932 times
in the personal details in FH. Incidentally in case this makes any difference, this individual was added from within AS by using Add Parent, while entering the marriage data for the son-inlaw & daughter.

I've attached the Word file that I used.



Colin
Attachments
M 1963 09 12 David Rountree - Elsie Kingston.docx
(22.87 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 14440
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby tatewise » 29 May 2018 19:15

I don't think it matters how the Individual was created.
Tried copy & paste the occupation from Word document but could not get it to fail with your symptoms.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 29 May 2018 21:06

OK. Many thanks for your input.

After that, it's a mystery!

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 14440
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby tatewise » 29 May 2018 21:52

Colin, can you repeat the failure symptoms?
Try experimenting on the FH Sample Project if you don't want to risk your Project.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 30 May 2018 07:56

Excellent Idea. I should have thought of that.


And yes, I managed to re-create it twice.


Family Historian Exception Report - Wednesday 30 May 2018
=========================================================

Record Type=Individual. Gedcom Id=I127. Record Number=109.
l.2008 - EXCLUDED: invalid line : "(Retired)"
l.2009 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 12 SEP 1963"
l.2010 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S41@"
l.2011 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3




Record Type=Individual. Gedcom Id=I112. Record Number=95.
l.1846 - EXCLUDED: invalid line : "(Retired)"
l.1847 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 12 SEP 1963"
l.1848 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S44@"
l.1849 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3"



After the first one, I tried a few alternatives, and I wondered if it was the witness entry causing the issue (despite the error report) , as I was now deliberately exaggerating the error and in the witness field I had left leading and trailing line feeds with otherwise empty lines. But these were OK. I returned to Spouses Fathers occupation and entered minimal extra info (just names and date of marriage, no other info to confuse the issue), and pasted in that occupation and created the error again.

Incidentally, if I paste the same entry into the witness field and the spouse father field, the result appears different.

In this first example, the paste looks like it did in Word ie on 2 lines. In fact the cursor is flashing on line 3 but SnagIt does not capture that for me.

fh1.jpg
fh1.jpg (42.15 KiB) Viewed 857 times



Here, the same paste appears on one line although without a space between the word Engineer & (Retired). The top entry is also from the same paste. I found that sometimes it posts like that others like the bottom one. I could not find any consistency in how it appears.

By now I had thought that it might be down to my auto-template. I tried it with the Generic template Still got the error.

Next I reset the Sample data base and tried again. Still got the error.

Now I spotted a further difference. If I entered the occupation in the individuals fathers field, I got a bigger exception list, see below

Record Type=Individual. Gedcom Id=I1. Record Number=1.
l.120 - EXCLUDED: invalid line : "(Retired)"
l.121 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 12 APR 1963"
l.122 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S44@"
l.123 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3"
l.124 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 FAMC @F3@"
l.125 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 FAMS @F1@"
l.126 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 FAMS @F2@"
l.127 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 OBJE @O10@"
l.128 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 _ASID 2"
l.129 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 OBJE @O1@"
l.130 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 _ASID 1"
l.131 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 NOTE A lover of the great outdoors, Anthony could never be persuaded to work in an office. He was a keen gardener and enjoyed many outdoor sports, such as rambling and sailing. He described himself as a writer, but produced only 2 published novel"
l.132 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 CONC s in his life, and occasional pieces for Punch."
l.133 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 NOTE @N1@"
l.134 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 CHAN "
l.135 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 30 MAY 2018"
l.136 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 TIME 08:36:44"



and

Record Type=Individual. Gedcom Id=I9. Record Number=9.
l.403 - EXCLUDED: invalid line : "(Retired)"
l.404 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 12 AUG 1963"
l.405 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S41@"
l.406 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3"
l.407 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 FAMC @F3@"
l.408 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 FAMS @F4@"
l.409 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 OBJE @O1@"
l.410 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 _ASID 6"
l.411 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 NOTE "
l.412 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 SOUR @S10@"
l.413 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 PAGE Pages 33 and 64-67."
l.414 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 QUAY 3"
l.415 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "1 CHAN "
l.416 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "2 DATE 30 MAY 2018"
l.417 - EXCLUDED BRANCH LINE: : "3 TIME 08:18:50"


I also noticed that if I run validation (with correct errors ticked) on the Spouses's fathers errors, then FH reports no errors found. If I run it on the individual's fathers errors, then FH corrected 2 errors.

One minor thought, I always use word (Office Professional Plus 2016) with "Show paragraph marks" set to on. This may possibly make a difference in what I am selecting to paste?
Attachments
fh2.jpg
fh2.jpg (91.41 KiB) Viewed 857 times

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 30 May 2018 08:00

Sorry the second image has moved out of position

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 14440
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby tatewise » 30 May 2018 11:29

Since it is repeatable, then Nick (the AS author) should be able to resolve the problem.

It is clearly the line break that is causing the problem, so you know how to workaround the error.

(The 'Show paragraph marks' setting should make no difference.)
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

bonalymac

Re: "Excluded Branch Line" Exception report

Postby bonalymac » 30 May 2018 11:45

Thanks for all your input.

It is really appreciated


Return to “Ancestral Sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests