* Customizing Reports

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
jsnyder
Silver
Family Historian: V6

Customizing Reports

Post by jsnyder » 03 Apr 2015 15:31

I'm new to posting inquiries in FHUG, so I hope I'm clear on what I am trying to do. I've been using FH V6 for a few months and have been pleased with the flexibility of customizing diagrams, reports, queries, etc. However, I am generally puzzled by the proper use of expressions and functions. I've studied the Knowledge Base and Help topics on Expressions of Contexts of Use, Understanding Data References and Functions, Text Templates, Report Options Dialog, etc. I haven't begun to look into Lua and writing plugins, but I don't think what I'm trying to do requires something that complex.

I've been able to customize some reports by adding simple expressions in Text, Format, and other tabs in diagrams and some reports. However, I am stuck on how to customize parts of the Contents tab of Report Options in the Individual Summary Report. I'm able to show a list of children in the Main Section by selecting "show if not empty" under the children Label and I can add new Items like =ChildCount(). But I have two questions:

1. Can I add Record Id to each of the children? With common names showing up regularly in a project involving a couple thousand individuals, it's helpful to have their Record Id appear next to each name. The Item Details under the children Label is grayed out and cannot be modified (if that is even the proper place to add the expression).