* Descendent Report assistance required

Homeless Posts from the old forum system
IanTS
Gold
Family Historian: V6.2

Descendent Report assistance required

Post by IanTS »

Hi,

I've just registered on here but have been using FH since 2008 to document my family's history, which I have been researching since 2005.  I have used this user group to help me on the quiet for many years now but the time has now come for me to ask a question, and I hope you don't mind me asking a Version 5 question on my first post ?  

I am now pulling together all the information into reports and books for others to look at, but I'm struggling to see how to do something in a report or book, I'll try and explain .....

Parents A & B have 6 children, 1 to 6

All 6 children are married and have their own children, etc. etc. down the descendant line

Parents A & B therefore have many descendents, in my case over 500 for these parents.

I want to produce a 'descendents by (all) generations' narrative report, with Parent A being the root, which is of course simple to do ..... but ..... I want to exclude all the descendents of, lets say, child 2 from the narrative but still have the report showing the descendents of the other 5 children as if it were the standard descendents by generations report for Parent A.  I do hope this is making sense.

I think I must be missing something simple, but I just can't see a way of doing this without the report becoming overly long and too complicated to read, even when I try and use queries to generate the report.

Thanks for taking the time read this, any advice will be very gladly received.

Ian

ID:6353
tatewise
Megastar
Family Historian: V7

Post by tatewise »

I think the only way to achieve that is to actually prune off the Descendants you don't want in the Report.

To avoid risking your primary Project, first make a copy by using File > Project Window.
Select the primary Project and click More Tasks > Copy Project and set a new Project Name of Copy.