*Property box attributes for Military tab

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
cmgrover
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2019 18:11
Family Historian: V6

Property box attributes for Military tab

Postby cmgrover » 05 Jan 2019 11:19

Hello
I am a returnee/newcomer to Fh - I used revs 1 & 2 and now restarted with version 6 - things have improved! I was adding some military data and decided to add the tabs for Census, Wills and Military. I added the tabs and the facts/attributes (hopefully) in the right order. I managed to move the tabs to the end eventually but I dont seem to have much in the way of military attributes.
I've attached views of the tabs for the added tabs. All the labels for the data seems OK but the data input boxes don't seem to be happening. When I go looking for the facts I think I've installed it doesn't seem to be there.
I believe I followed all the instructions in the right order but obviously I have done something wrong. Any ideas? I'm willing to try again from scratch but I'm not sure I can get back to that position without reinstalling. Is there any way to check the installation (facts) files are OK? If you need any more info let me know. I'm running rev 6.2.7 on Windows 10.
Attachments
prop4.docx
(158.5 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
prop3.docx
(157.23 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
prop2.docx
(161.33 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16033
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Property box attributes for Military tab

Postby tatewise » 05 Jan 2019 13:30

Welcome to the FHUG.

I presume you downloaded the tab definitions from Knowledge Base > Property Box Tab ~ Military & Census & Wills.
But I suspect you have NOT followed the Installation Instructions that say:
Before installing the Property Box tabs you will need to add the Fact Sets...
However, you can install those Fact Sets now and all will be OK.

Remember that Property Box tabs (including the default set) are just an overview of the underlying Facts.
But if there are no matching Fact Set definitions then you cannot add those Facts and the tabs won't work.

BTW: Don't insert screenshots into Word document attachments, but simply save the screenshot as a JPG image file and attach the image file instead. See Knowledge Base > Problem Reporting.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

cmgrover
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2019 18:11
Family Historian: V6

Re: Property box attributes for Military tab

Postby cmgrover » 05 Jan 2019 14:38

Thanks very much for your swift reply. I will give that a go and thanks for the tip. Brain was a bit cold after going for a jog :lol: ! I'll let you know how it goes.

cmgrover
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2019 18:11
Family Historian: V6

Re: Property box attributes for Military tab

Postby cmgrover » 05 Jan 2019 19:56

Whoopee do! Succcess, after a fashion ...

The instructions are fine except there is one scenario that seems to stop any updates happening and that is if you have the fh application running (in my scenario the property tab was open/active as well) and then effect the adding of the fact sets outside fh in a browser e.g. from the FHUG Forum, the download and the update (done by executing fh) do not report any errors. Obviouly the download is OK but the running of fh to add to the FactSets doesn't seem to add anything or it didn't for me. One can can have two different projects running concurrently but I guess for fh system data there may be some restriction on what can be modified?

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16033
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Property box attributes for Military tab

Postby tatewise » 05 Jan 2019 21:35

If you have FH running separately when the Fact Sets are installed then they won't appear in that session.
Close FH and run FH again, then they should appear correctly.

When most other system customisations are installed they do appear in simultaneously running sessions of FH.
I suspect that Fact Set Definitions are so much at the heart of FH and what is currently on display, that to update the definitions would cause internal issues.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry


Return to “General Usage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests