* Place location indicator

Questions about managing place and address information, and using maps and geocoding
Post Reply
avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 1711
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V7
Location: Swansea

Place location indicator

Post by Gowermick »

When one clicks ‘Locate Place on Map’, the map moves to centre the place on the map under the cross in the middle of the map.
Does anyone know how to make this cross more visible?
I know it is in the centre of the map so one should know where to look for it, but these ageing eyes of mine often find dificulty locating it. Even when map is expanded, the cross remains indistinct.

On a very similar topic, the street/Place names on the map are often too small to read, but even expanding the map, they stay the same size, i.e. they do not increase in size along with the map, in fact one can see them expand with the map, but then immediately shrink back to original size. It somewhat defeats the point of expanding the map to see details such as this, if the detail doesn’t expand too.
Mike Loney

Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com
avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 1711
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V7
Location: Swansea

Re: Place location indicator

Post by Gowermick »

Peter I think you misunderstood my request. It is the crosshair themselves that I want more visible. These need to be bolder, to stand out. I really do find them dificult to find sometimes, even though I know they are dead centre of the map.
Following another post, I've managed to thicken the Windows Insertion point amd mouse indicator in FH, but not the crosshairs in the map!

BTW The thicker insertion pointer does not seem to work in this forum :(
Mike Loney

Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com
avatar
Little.auk
Superstar
Posts: 250
Joined: 23 Jul 2021 08:51
Family Historian: V7
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK

Re: Place location indicator

Post by Little.auk »

Sorry about that,

I don't think that there is any way of modifying the base map. It is an embedded OpenStreetMap so FH themselves probably have little or no control over the map display, other than to overlay place data.

It might be worth asking FH Technical Support, but think the only way to make things look bigger is to get a bigger monitor :P.

BTW If you try any of the 'View in' (web) maps they don't give you the crosshairs - so no joy there.
Peter Rollin
Running FH 7.0.22 and AS 7.8.6 64 bit in Windows 11
avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 1711
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V7
Location: Swansea

Re: Place location indicator

Post by Gowermick »

Little.auk wrote: 23 May 2023 10:32
It might be worth asking FH Technical Support, but think the only way to make things look bigger is to get a bigger monitor :P.
What! I already have a 40” monitor :lol:
I could change the resolution I suppose, but then it wouldn’t allow so many windows open at once.
Mike Loney

Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com
Post Reply