* [Wish List entry 616] Moving from Family Tree Maker to Family Historian

For Wish List Requests that have either (a) been progressed to the Wish List; or (b) been classified as duplicates, or as redundant because the requirement is already satisfied within FH and/or plugins; or (c) closed because it wasn't possible to arrive at a clear specification of the request within 15 months of it being raised.
taigasl
Family Historian: V7

[Wish List entry 616] Moving from Family Tree Maker to Family Historian

Post by taigasl »

Family Tree Maker 2019 by MacKiev (FTM) is regularly used to record the data resulting from 15 years of genealogical research. This data is transfered to Family Historian 7 (FH) using Gedcom file export / import as and when required in order to produce detailed bespoke charts for subsequent pasting into family history books for publishing. This cannot be achieved with FTM.
I have been using FH for 9 years, solely for it's charting functions, and would to love to make it my only genealogy program but the following serious limitation is stopping me.
When I finish my session with FTM I just close the program. When I restart it everything is as I left it - windows, record pointers - everything. I just carry on working.
FH does not appear to have this one essential feature.
It is vastly superior in so many other ways but this is the only thing stopping me from using FH all the time.
Why is such a simple but important feature missing ?
Valkrider
Megastar

Re: Moving from Family Tree Maker to Family Historian

Post by Valkrider »

FH stores my window layout settings fine. Can you post a screenshot of your layout that is not being saved? Do you have a project or are you just opening the gedcom from FTM?
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

Welcome to the FHUG.