* Just started using Zerobrane

Writing and using plugins for Version 5 and above.
Post Reply
avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 14 Jan 2021 12:19

I've been using pspad to develop plugins for a number of years.

For a while I've wished for code folding and today I finally decided to do something about it. Since I see that some people are using Zerobrane, I decided to try it out and after fixing the syntax highlighting colors (the default scheme is too washed out for me), it looks like a nice improvement.

I'd be happy to hear tips or advice on using it with FH.

Thanks
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 14 Jan 2021 14:42

I find it invaluable for code folding -- like you I've changed the colour scheme.

I also run two copies at once so I can have two files open side by side on a big screen:
To run multiple instances of the IDE, you can start one instance as you normally do, and then start the second instance using this command: zbstudio -cfg "singleinstance=false". If you are on macOS, you may need to use open -n ZeroBraneStudio.app.

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 14 Jan 2021 14:55

OK. Now can run 2 copies at once. I just added -cfg to the shortcut.

Now, if only we could debug from here. ;)
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 14 Jan 2021 15:13

Yeah, and integrate it well with github...

User avatar
AdrianBruce
Megastar
Posts: 1071
Joined: 09 Aug 2003 21:02
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: South Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by AdrianBruce » 14 Jan 2021 15:58

Sigh... I haven't the faintest idea what you're talking about! ;)

I used to do folding of punch cards? Anything like? :D
Adrian

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 14 Jan 2021 16:35

You folded your punch cards !?!

So, you were the one who kept clogging up the card reader! :lol:
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 1981
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V7
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by LornaCraig » 14 Jan 2021 16:39

Same here Adrian! (I remember punch cards, too. I never saw anyone fold them but I did once see someone drop a whole tray....)
Lorna

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 14 Jan 2021 16:44

My first job in the tech world was working at the remote computing center at University. We used to refill the paper supply for the line printers, tear-off and distribute student jobs, and, ah, unclog card reader jams. Good times!
Shosh Kalson

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 14 Jan 2021 16:46

We saw people dropping decks all the time. We were young and mean and found it quite funny.
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 14 Jan 2021 16:51

LornaCraig wrote:
14 Jan 2021 16:39
Same here Adrian! (I remember punch cards, too. I never saw anyone fold them but I did once see someone drop a whole tray....)
Part of my education at University included the art of crossing a very windy wet courtyard with a tray of punch cards and arriving unscathed at the card reader.... only to learn that the code was wrong and woud have to be redone the next day.

User avatar
AdrianBruce
Megastar
Posts: 1071
Joined: 09 Aug 2003 21:02
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: South Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by AdrianBruce » 14 Jan 2021 22:13

The funniest thing that I ever saw with a card punch was when I walked up to the punch and pushed the front cover down over the output hopper to make the circuit that would let me punch. Now, it was possible to lift that lid at exactly the right point after the keys had been pressed but before the card had been punched and stop the process. Someone must have done that because when I pushed the front cover down, the waiting key punches whirred into action and out came a card reading:

Code: Select all

HELP I AM TRAPPED INSIDE A CARD PUNCH AND CANT GET OUT
Collapse of stout party as they say. :lol:
Adrian

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 15 Jan 2021 05:32

So, after a bit of reminiscing, back to Zerobrane...

I've been fiddling around with the settings - got rid of all those pesky underlines that (I found) made it difficult to read my code, tweaked the syntax coloring a bit more.

Next, I'm wondering if there's a way to control folding. Perhaps to only fold function definitions, for example.
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 15 Jan 2021 08:20

shoshk wrote:
15 Jan 2021 05:32

Next, I'm wondering if there's a way to control folding. Perhaps to only fold function definitions, for example.
Not that I've found and I couldnt spot anything quickly perusing their plugin repository. IDoing so did however remind me that I use the todo plugin (useful for dropping

Code: Select all

--TODO: Fix this bit
and other gems of wisdom into the code and seeing all such items in a panel as a tod-do list.

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 15 Jan 2021 08:23

Which TODO plugin do you use? I saw several.
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 15 Jan 2021 08:27

I use todo, and have tweaked the patterns to include TODO: (obvious) FIXME: (bugs) and ENHANCE: (possible additional functionality etc.)

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 15 Jan 2021 11:35

I often put TODO in my code. This sounds like a nice feature to add.
Shosh Kalson

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 15 Jan 2021 14:02

Added TODO.

I decided to setup an API file. Actually, there will be 2 files - one for the api and the second which will add syntax highlighting for the fh functions.

I've got a very basic API file working. I set it up manually with 3 functions. But I'm going to use some automation.

I plan to create a csv file with the list of functions (and objects, etc) and then write a plugin which generates the api and keywords files.

I figure that I can add to the csv file at my leisure and regenerate the api and keywords files as needed.

I particularly like that I'll be able to run analyze and use it as intended.
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 15 Jan 2021 14:25

Ooh... I haven't been nearly organised enough/have been far too busy to look at doing an API file, or syntax for the fh functions...

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 16 Jan 2021 16:32

I also have a lot to do; I'm working on a major rewrite of our source and data entry plugin to take advantage of new features available in FH7. Plus, after 5 years, there are a number of improvements that we've identified. It's probably among the most fun to be had as a programmer, designing a new system from the ground up.

But I believe that, with a small amount of effort, I can add a feature to Zerobrane which will greatly facilitate my work process.

I estimate that it should take about a half a day to set up the basic framework which will consist of several Excel files and a plugin.

The rest is data entry, which I will do as necessary. At this point, I plan on entering definitions for things that I use. I doubt that I will ever enter everything.

When I've got it going, I will share. I'm hoping to get it started and perhaps done on Monday.

Tomorrow I'm off to get my second vaccination shot.
Shosh Kalson

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 2206
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 16 Jan 2021 16:48

Thanks for offering to share -- I *may* be able to contribute some data entry but no promises.

avatar
shoshk
Famous
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 May 2015 16:28
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mitzpe Jericho, Israel

Re: Just started using Zerobrane

Post by shoshk » 18 Jan 2021 12:43

I've got the first version of 'FH API and Keywords for Zerobrane' working. It is totally aimed at programmer types. You will need to change the file paths at the beginning of the file to suit your system.

At the moment, I've only defined functions (that I am currently using). I plan on adding module definitions at some point.
Attachments
Build for Zerobrane.fh_lua
(2.97 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
fhApi-functions.csv
(674 Bytes) Downloaded 5 times
Shosh Kalson

Post Reply