* Cannot install Plugin problem

Writing and using plugins for Version 5 and above.
Post Reply
avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 08:33

Just re-building my laptop after re-installing Windows. I previously had FH v6.2.7.0 running perfectly with files stored on One-Drive linked to my Desktop PC.

I've re-installed FH (using the original disk and code). FH seems to be working perfectly, and I've got it working with the synced project. I checked by changing my own DoB and it has synced from Laptop to Desktop and then changed DoB back, it syncs vice versa.

However all my plug-ins on the laptop fail with this error.
"An error has occurred. Cannot instal …. as aPlugin"
The only discussion I've found is Cannot install plugin (10758), and there was no resolution. However I am not on the trial version (as far as I can see, there is no reference to it on the "About" dialog, but there is also no user name or ID no either).

I have also tested installing
from the Family Historian website Plugin Store web page, or are you starting from the Family Historian program Tools > Plugins > Plugin Store button?
as was suggested. Neither route works.

Could it be that I have already "registered" a laptop (albeit the same one) and a desktop install?

Thanks

Colin

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16890
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by tatewise » 27 Jun 2019 09:01

That is a bit unusual, Colin.
The FH Help > About Family Historian window never shows any licence codes.
Near the top it may say Registered To: and give your name.
Does it say Family Historian Version 6.2.7 at the very top?

Presumably there are no Plugins listed in the Tools > Plugins window?

How have you gone about restoring all your customisation and preference settings on the laptop?
i.e. custom Diagrams, Reports, Queries, Fact Sets, Plugins, etc, etc...

Usually that would be performed using the Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin, but that won't work.
So instead try copying the C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian folder contents from desktop to laptop.

Another possibility is the security permissions on that folder or its subfolders may be preventing FH access.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 09:16

There is no "registered to" (on my Desktop or Laptop version). I bought from a third party supplier, not direct from Calico, not sure if that makes a difference!

It does say Family Historian Version 6.2.7 at the very top.

No there are no plugins listed.

So far I have nothing restored. I was planning to use your Backup and Restore Family Historian Settings Plugin.

I'll set up the C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian folder, although I need to set up the Symbolic link as I have it on OneDrive as well. Just didn't get round to that yet.

avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 09:39

That's got my Symbolic link set up.

All Plugins (and reports etc) now visible. No need to install the Plugins.

Looks as if I won't even need to run the Restore bit of the Back-up & Restore Plugin. I will check that however.

All a bit strange, but seems to be OK now. Off to install AS now.

Thanks

Colin

avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 09:47

Think I've worked out what the problem was.

When I went to set up the Symbolic link, the "C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian" was completely empty, no subfolders at all - in particular no "plugins" subfolder. So the install almost certainly fell over for that reason.

It is a more than a few days since I did the initial re-install of FH, so my memory is not that clear, but I suspect that I have made an error with the mklink command at an earlier stage and wiped the Plugin folder (along with all the others). So obviously user error.

I haven't fully tested this, but Mklink does not seem to work if there is a folder in existence. So it is necessary to delete the "C:\ProgramData\Calico Pie\Family Historian" folder first before running mklink .

Thanks for the help.

Colin

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16890
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by tatewise » 27 Jun 2019 09:51

Might be worth checking that a new Plugin can be installed from Plugin Store, and that custom changes to say a Diagram &/or Report work correctly and synch across OneDrive.

To register you can use Help > Product Registration and also opt to receive FH Bulletins by Email.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 10:50

I should have mentioned that I did try and load a plugin that I did not already have, and it installed perfectly and was available on both devices.

I haven't yet tried the Diagrams etc, but I will do shortly.

I'm pretty sure I would have registered the product when I first installed it on my Desktop, but I can't be certain. So I looked at Help > Product Registration but I don't have that option. So now I'm not sure if I did or not.
fh1.jpg
fh1.jpg (32.8 KiB) Viewed 872 times
Colin

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16890
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by tatewise » 27 Jun 2019 11:14

May be the Product Registration option only comes with downloads bought from Calico Pie and not CD.
You can still subscribe to the Bulletins at https://www.family-historian.co.uk/comm ... -bulletins
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
ColinMc
Diamond
Posts: 71
Joined: 17 Jan 2019 11:35
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by ColinMc » 27 Jun 2019 11:23

I suspect that may be the answer.

I have registered now, whether its a second one or not I'll possible discover in due course if I have used a different email address.

Thanks again

Colin

User avatar
BillH
Megastar
Posts: 1418
Joined: 31 May 2010 03:40
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by BillH » 27 Jun 2019 20:58

tatewise wrote:May be the Product Registration option only comes with downloads bought from Calico Pie and not CD.
Sorry to butt in on this thread, but I bought my FH as a download from Calico Pie and I don't have a "registered to" line in the Help > About either.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16890
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by tatewise » 28 Jun 2019 07:46

Bill, do you have a Help > Product Registration command (which is more significant)?
Also, have you ever 'registered' via that command or during installation?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 1563
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by LornaCraig » 28 Jun 2019 14:36

We've had a discussion about product registration before, including the fact that some of us don't see these details, even though we have definitely registered. See this topic: Question on registration info in Help > About (16615)
Lorna

User avatar
BillH
Megastar
Posts: 1418
Joined: 31 May 2010 03:40
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Cannot install Plugin problem

Post by BillH » 28 Jun 2019 16:06

I had forgotten about that other post. I thought this sounded familiar. As I mentioned in the other post I do not have a Help > Product Registration item and I have registered in the past. Not sure why people have differences in their Help > About.

Post Reply