* Ancestry (UK) GEDCOM import date format problem

Importing from another genealogy program? This is the place to ask. Questions about Exporting should go in the Exporting sub-forum of the General Usage forum.
sheffd
Family Historian: V7

Ancestry (UK) GEDCOM import date format problem

Post by sheffd »

I am new to Family HIstorian. I am currently using the evaluation period to see whether it fits my needs. My particular interest is to have an advanced/sophisticated search function for my tree.

I tried searching, but didn't find any thread. Apologies if this has been discussed previously.

I have written out a GEDCOM from Ancestry UK, and then imported it into FH. I can see that there is a problem with quite a few of the dates, and I am pretty sure it is caused by the date format which I used in Ancestry.

I use (and prefer) the date format "21-Nov-1877". FH appears to mis-interpret the dash separator as a "from", since I see "frm" in the FH people listing. Is there a way to tell FH about this date format. Just FYI, Ancestry accepts this date format and calculates age for each record directly. I have no idea if there is supposed to be a certain date format, I guess I assumed that you could essentially use any format you like, because it is simply a text field. As a possible fix, I edited my GEDCOM using a text editor changing "21-Nov-1877" to "21 Nov 1877". This time the date was correctly interpreted.

I also use a non-standard date format from some birth and death records, where only the quarter is known, the format is "Q1-1877" (or Q2,Q3,Q4). I am less surprised that this is not understood, but again I wonder if there is a way to "help" the import tool, in order to get the date into an acceptable format?

Interestingly I note that FH accepts the "Abt." preferred (and offered as a correction) in Ancestry and converts to "c" (circa).