* FTAnalyzer information

The place to chat and put the world to rights
Post Reply
avatar
ambisset
Gold
Posts: 15
Joined: 23 Feb 2009 10:52
Family Historian: None

FTAnalyzer information

Post by ambisset » 25 Jan 2018 23:29

Hi folks

I note you have a page regarding my Family Tree Analyzer program at Knowledge Base > Utility ~ Family Tree Analyzer and I wonder if you would be so kind as to update the information.

Firstly FTAnalyzer was written by myself Alexander Bisset it was only hosted on Codeplex (a Microsoft code hosting website) never "by Codeplex".

Secondly due to Codeplex closing down I've had to move the site to a new home on a different code hosting site "GitHub". I've setup an easy to remember webpage though http://www.ftanalyzer.com I've also setup a Facebook page for people to ask questions http://www.facebook.com/ftanalyzer and a twitter account @ftanalyzer if people prefer to contact me that way about the program.

Many thanks.
Alexander Bisset
Author Family Tree Analyzer

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 26 Jan 2018 13:56

Thank you Alexander for that update.

I think I have updated the Knowledge Base > Utility ~ Family Tree Analyzer page correctly.

In return could you please update your http://ftanalyzer.com/Family%20Historian page where it says:
Use the menu bar command “Tools-Work with Fact sets”
to instead say:
Use the menu bar command “Tools - Fact Types”
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
Pentris
Platinum
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 16:26
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Winscombe, England

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Pentris » 15 Feb 2018 15:41

I have just tried out this FTAnalyzer programme and found it useful in finding anomolies in my Gedcom file which FH did not find. I especially like the colour coded pages for census omissions with direct linking to the selected website to try and find the missing census. This makes it easy to see where a census should be available for an ancestor. It does occasionally try and fill in incorrect census notes to the wrong person and assumes that all data in notes, such as info from death records, are correct when they do have errors especially the birth year of the deceased. Despite some issues it does a good job finding identifying info and giving a different look to the presentation of the facts.

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1277
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Valkrider » 15 Feb 2018 16:21

Pentris wrote:I especially like the colour coded pages for census omissions with direct linking to the selected website to try and find the missing census. This makes it easy to see where a census should be available for an ancestor.
Try the Lookup Missing Census Facts plugin and this will do exactly that all from within Family Historian.

avatar
Pentris
Platinum
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 16:26
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Winscombe, England

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Pentris » 16 Feb 2018 09:44

It has a useful plugin from FH but I do not find it as useful in the initial stage. If you are trawling through the facts for a single person and notice a missing census then ok. If like me after 30 years of records cannot remember what is missing then not quite so good. As per the attached screenprint I personally find a picture worth a thousand words to more quickly identify missing census for someone I have not visited for the last 10 years. In the print I can easily see that Robert Powley may have two missing census records. The hints in FH have not come up with these possibilities probably due to obscure spelling changes in the census. Using the plugin it has provided possible links to these census for me to check along with 12 other entries for people that I have no interest in.
Sometimes in research another way of looking at a problem is not a bad thing.
Attachments
direct ancester chart 4.JPG
direct ancester chart 4.JPG (64.95 KiB) Viewed 5889 times

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1277
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Valkrider » 16 Feb 2018 10:00

You can easily do this with a query. There is one in the Knowledgebase and I have modified that to suit myself to present something similar to your screenshot. Additional columns can be added and I suspect colours instead of Yes or Find.
censuslist.JPG
censuslist.JPG (53.08 KiB) Viewed 5887 times

avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 817
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Swansea

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Gowermick » 19 Feb 2018 10:39

Valkrider,
I am looking for a simple query like yours in which, judging by the output, you have used an if..then..else construct for each row, to give you the "-" or "YES" or "Find"

Any chance you could post an example of the expression used? It seems silly for me to re-invent the wheel :D
Mike Loney

Using FH 6.2.7, with CC 6.7.37 Windows 10 Home, LibreOffice (x64), Firefox(x64) & Thunderbird
Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1277
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Valkrider » 19 Feb 2018 13:23

Mike

I have attached my custom query to this post so you can play with it.
Census by year-CS2.fhq
(5.53 KiB) Downloaded 138 times

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 19 Feb 2018 13:32

It is the Columns expression that determines whether it says "-" or "YES" or "Find".
e.g. for the 1841 column:
=TextIf( (%INDI.BIRT.DATE% > DateAt(1841,6,6)) or (%INDI.DEAT.DATE% < DateAt(1841,6,6)),"-", DateIf(Exists(%INDI.CENS[year=1841]%), "YES", "Find" ) )
i.e.
If Born after Census date or Died before Census date then show "-"
else if Census exists then show "YES" else show "Find"
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 817
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Swansea

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by Gowermick » 19 Feb 2018 14:23

Valkrider,
Thanks, just what I was looking for. No matter how I tried a similar expression, FH rejected the syntax, and I couldn’t determine what I was doing wrong.

Tatewise,
Yes, I’d already sussed that out, but as you can see from above comment, I couldn’t get the correct syntax.

Thank you both
Mike Loney

Using FH 6.2.7, with CC 6.7.37 Windows 10 Home, LibreOffice (x64), Firefox(x64) & Thunderbird
Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 19 Feb 2018 16:21

Mike, the snag with this kind of expression is they rely on specifically Birth and Death event Dates, which you may not have recorded, or only have approximate or range dates, especially prior to 1837. That is where the =Estimated... functions come into play that detect many more events.

The trick to building such complex expressions with multiple functions is to start with a simple outermost function.
=TextIf( %INDI.BIRT.DATE% > DateAt(1841,6,6), "-", "?" )

Then add the Death date check:
=TextIf( %INDI.BIRT.DATE% > DateAt(1841,6,6) or %INDI.DEAT.DATE% < DateAt(1841,6,6), "-", "?" )

Separately, build the Census date check:
=DateIf( Exists(%INDI.CENS[year=1841]%), "YES", "Find" )

Finally combine together:
=TextIf( %INDI.BIRT.DATE% > DateAt(1841,6,6) or %INDI.DEAT.DATE% < DateAt(1841,6,6), "-", DateIf( Exists(%INDI.CENS[year=1841]%), "YES", "Find" ) )

Note how the = must be omitted from inner functions like DateIf(...).

I often use a plain text editor to compose and edit the expression, then paste it into FH until it is happy.
It is also easier to check for matched pairs of parentheses, with expression split over several lines, before joining into one line and copy pasting.
You can also keep a history of how it was built with previous trial attempts until success is achieved, as it is a combination of getting both the syntax and the semantics correct.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
OcalaDick
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Sep 2018 20:24
Family Historian: V6

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by OcalaDick » 09 Sep 2018 20:41

FTAnalyzer has the choice "Unknown Fact Type," which seems to flag any user created fact type. Looking at the "Fact" tab it seems all user created facts are in CAPS.

What is the purpose of the "Unknown Fact Type" choice? I know what user facts I created in Family Tree Maker, so why have it? Is there a use for it I haven't discovered? For sure, I don't want, or need, a multi-page report listing what I consider to be non-existent "errors."

OcalaDick

User avatar
mjashby
Superstar
Posts: 494
Joined: 23 Oct 2004 10:45
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Yorkshire

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by mjashby » 09 Sep 2018 21:24

@OcalaDick,

if you have questions about the use of FTAnalyzer you need to direct them to the author - see links provided in the opening message on this thread.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 09 Sep 2018 21:43

Each Unknown Fact Type is in CAPS because that is how they are defined in GEDCOM, and nothing else is known.
Even the standard facts are defined in CAPS in GEDCOM, but most genealogy products give them a mixed case standard name.
e.g. BIRT is named Birth Event, DEAT is named Death Event, etc.

In some products, including FTM and FH, some predefined Fact Types are NOT standard GEDCOM facts.
So those would be classified by FTAnalyzer as Unknown Fact Type along with your own custom Fact Types.
Users less experienced than you may be unaware that such predefined Fact Types are actually non-standard, and in GEDCOM terms, are an. Such non-standard Facts may not migrate well via GEDCOM to other genealogy products.

FTAnalyzer offers 23 tick options on the Errors/Fixes tab, and as the Family Tree Analyzer Guide Part 3 - Errors & Specialist Tabs says "You can control which errors you want to see by selecting the checkboxes, and this selection is remembered".
Also on the Tools > Options > General Settings you can tick Ignore Unknown Fact Type Warnings.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
gsward
Diamond
Posts: 76
Joined: 11 Mar 2011 14:47
Family Historian: V6

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by gsward » 27 Jan 2019 15:32

I have used the Export Gedcom Plugin to create a Gedcom for FT Analyzer. It imports OK but reports that none of my locations have Lat/Long coordinates. However, if I check FH my locations do have coordinates.

Are the locations not correctly formatted for FTA?

Just to confirm, I checked the Gedcom file. Here is an example:
0 @S1154@ SOUR
1 TITL Ω Place Record: Altrincham, Cheshire
1 AUTH Place Rec Id [P5]
1 TEXT Map Plot:
2 CONT Latitude: N53.3835609
2 CONT Longitude: W2.3533433
1 NOTE Source Type: Place Details

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 27 Jan 2019 17:55

The recognition of FH Place records with Lat/Longitude is I think a fairly recent update.

Anyway, in the Export Gedcom File Plugin, on its Extra Options tab, set Place Record 0 @P%d+@ to Keep Custom Record and that seems to work.

Please confirm that works for you, and if so I will make that a default setting in the next version of the Plugin.

If you spot any other discrepancies then please let me know.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
gsward
Diamond
Posts: 76
Joined: 11 Mar 2011 14:47
Family Historian: V6

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by gsward » 27 Jan 2019 20:31

That's better. They import now, but it has highlighted I still need to clean up some of my locations!

The nice thing with FT Analyser is that you can map against a background of the National Library of Scotland's historical mapping.

Thanks.

User avatar
David2416
Famous
Posts: 167
Joined: 12 Nov 2017 16:37
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by David2416 » 27 Jan 2019 20:52

I let FT Analyser read the project gedcom directly since it is only reading the file. Is there a problem with doing this?

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18654
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: FTAnalyzer information

Post by tatewise » 27 Jan 2019 22:37

FT Analyzer should do no harm to your GEDCOM and it will ignore the Media (OBJE) records
Some of the FH custom tags such as File _ROOT and _PLAC records are supported.

All other custom tags are probably ignored, and that will include all custom Attribute (_ATTR) facts, but you may not be concerned about including them in the analysis. The Plugin converts such attributes into custom Event (EVEN) facts.

I don't know if FT Analyzer recognises the symmetric format for same sex partners that is used by FH.
Most products prefer the asymmetric format of one HUSB tag and one WIFE tag regardless of sex.
The Plugin makes that conversion too.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

Post Reply