* Repeat census entries

AS allows faster and more convenient creation of source records for Family Historian.
Genie15
Diamond
Family Historian: V7

Repeat census entries

Post by Genie15 »

I am new to Ancestral Sources (two weeks) so bear with me please.
I input the data etc in a census then when I've finished I save the file and AS asks me a few futher questions one (from FH) being to reload the file.
Then if I have more data to put in I have to reload AS, select the option I want. Find it a bit tedious. Is there a way to over come this repeat loading of AS.
LornaCraig
Megastar

Re: Repeat census entries

Post by LornaCraig »

I guess you are opening the AS program via the plugin Ancestral Sources Data Entry. The plugin is useful if you want to open AS with the relevant person already selected. However it means that every time you complete one entry in AS and switch back to FH the file will need reloading in FH. If you are doing a 'batch' entry of several census records at once, covering different family groups, you may find it easier to open the Ancestral Sources program directly, while FH is not running. Then do all the entries in AS while FH is closed. (This is what I do). Then when they are all complete, close AS and open FH.
Lorna
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

Sorry but Lorna has slightly mislead you.

If you use the Ancestral Sources Data Entry Plugin there is the option Close on 'Save Entry to File' ? which defaults to ticked, but if you untick it then AS will NOT Close on each Save and allow a batch of entries. That is explained in the Plugin Help and Advice page.

The Plugin is particularly useful because it ensures the correct Project Gedcom file is used (a common problem) and allows the initial focus person to be pre-selected.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
LornaCraig
Megastar

Post by LornaCraig »