* Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
Post Reply
avatar
fhugdeeseajay
Gold
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 Nov 2022 20:01
Family Historian: V7

Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by fhugdeeseajay »

Hi
I've entered many people to my Property Box without problems. However, I've noticed that in the "Individual Records - Records Window" several of the people entered appear with a comma preceeding their name, eg Fred BLOGGS appears as ", Fred BLOGGS" and thereford doesn't get listed with the other entries alphabetically. What does the comma signify and how do I correct this?
A basic question, I agree, but one that is causing issues!
Many thanks

David
avatar
jelv
Megastar
Posts: 672
Joined: 03 Feb 2020 22:57
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mere, Wiltshire

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by jelv »

How would you have keyed the name in to the box? Do you ever key commas or use slashes to denote the surname?
John Elvin
avatar
Gowermick
Megastar
Posts: 1711
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V7
Location: Swansea

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by Gowermick »

As jelv suggested, maybe you entered him as Joe,Bloggs, rather than Joe Bloggs!
Mike Loney

Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com
User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 28594
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by tatewise »

David, that display indicates there is no Surname entered and both Fred & BLOGGS are treated as Forenames.
i.e. The format in the Records Window Individuals tab is SURNAME, Forenames
So if there is no surname the display starts with a comma.

In the Property Box:
The Name box contains Fred BLOGGS //
Whereas it should contain Fred /Bloggs/
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
avatar
jelv
Megastar
Posts: 672
Joined: 03 Feb 2020 22:57
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mere, Wiltshire

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by jelv »

To always see the names with slashes in the property box you need to go to Tools, Preferences and select Property Box from the left hand column. Then change Name Fields, Show Surnames Between Slashes to Always.
John Elvin
User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 28594
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by tatewise »

John, although that is generally good advice, it is not necessary for abnormal Name fields where either the Forename(s) or Surname are missing such as in this thread.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 3250
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V7
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by LornaCraig »

Mike,
It's never "necessary" but I think John's point is that it would immediately be clear that the name has been entered as Fred BLOGGS // and therefore it would help to solve the OP's puzzle.
Lorna
User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 28594
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by tatewise »

The point is, as I tried to say, that 'abnormal' Name fields like Fred BLOGGS // always show the slashes regardless of the Preferences setting and thus solve the OP problem, but presumably he never looked at the Name field.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 3250
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V7
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by LornaCraig »

Yes, sorry I forgot that. The other puzzle, though, is that the OP says BLOGGS is in capitals in the Records window. So there must have been a conscious decision to enter it in capitals in the Property box. I wonder if they are entering all surnames in capitals?
Lorna
User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 28594
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by tatewise »

Some users do seem to do that for some reason.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
avatar
fhugdeeseajay
Gold
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 Nov 2022 20:01
Family Historian: V7

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by fhugdeeseajay »

Many thanks for the helpful responses.
Problem solved by me not using forward slashes, except where Surname not obvious.
I'm now using lower case for surnames being entered in the Property Box - seems to work well!
Regards David
User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 28594
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by tatewise »

Yes, it is recommended that surnames are entered in Title case the same as forenames.
Use Tools > Preferences > General > Display surnames in upper case to determine how they are displayed.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
avatar
jelv
Megastar
Posts: 672
Joined: 03 Feb 2020 22:57
Family Historian: V7
Location: Mere, Wiltshire

Re: Issue with entering Data in Property Box

Post by jelv »

If you are changing from keying surnames in upper case to keying in the recommended style of in title case and need to correct previously entered data my plugin Name capitalisation and parts check (0.2.4) reports names incorrectly capitalised.

Also there is a plugin written by Jane Taubman which will convert all the existing surnames to lower case: Clean up Surname Capitalisation V1.3.
John Elvin
Post Reply