* Number of generations in charts

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
User avatar
Klaus Yde
Famous
Posts: 109
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 14:59
Family Historian: V7
Location: Denmark

Number of generations in charts

Post by Klaus Yde » 02 Aug 2022 15:09

With the new version of FH the program asked me how many generations I would want when ever i made a new chart. But now when i have got a new PC with Win 11, the program dont ask me anymore.

Is that a result of an upgrade or because of Win11. I have tried to look in preferences if it was a function I could tick on, but was not able to find the function anywhere.

I would like to get it back, but how?

Kind regards
Klaus Yde (Denmark)

avatar
neil40
Famous
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Apr 2012 13:42
Family Historian: V7

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by neil40 » 02 Aug 2022 15:15

When the diagram opens, go to Diagram>Options and it's there on the General Tab you can select 1 to 5, 10, 15, 20 or All
Neil Grantham
Researching Grantham, Skuce, Barrow and Birchall

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 24655
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by tatewise » 02 Aug 2022 15:20

Sorry Klaus, but whatever Chart option I choose in FH V7 the first popup dialogue has options for Generations Up/Down.

Have you used Tools > Preferences > Diagrams and ticked Enable One-Click Diagram Display from Toolbar.
That opens diagrams immediately with the currently selected record as the diagram root and no prompts.
In that mode, you must use Diagram > Options to set the Generations Up/Down as explained by Neil.

I don't think is anything to do with the Windows version.

How have you migrated all your custom settings to the new PC?
Did you follow the FHUG KB Family Historian Copy and Migration Guide?
If you did not copy your custom settings then you may find many things missing or different.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
Klaus Yde
Famous
Posts: 109
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 14:59
Family Historian: V7
Location: Denmark

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by Klaus Yde » 02 Aug 2022 15:28

Thanks - I have got it back again - That was a very well hidden option :lol:

Kind regards

Klaus Yde

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 24655
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by tatewise » 02 Aug 2022 15:47

Klause, did you follow the FHUG KB Family Historian Copy and Migration Guide to move to new PC?
If you did not copy your custom settings then you may find many settings missing or different.
You should have used one of the Backup and Restore FH Settings... plugins as advised in the guide.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
Klaus Yde
Famous
Posts: 109
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 14:59
Family Historian: V7
Location: Denmark

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by Klaus Yde » 02 Aug 2022 16:12

I dont think so. I used the information on FHs homepage to move the program. And it have functioned ok ekcept for this little problem. And i dont think that fhugs migration guide existed, when i made the transfer, but of cause i can be wrong.

Kind regards
Klaus Yde

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 24655
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Number of generations in charts

Post by tatewise » 02 Aug 2022 16:59

Klaus, the FHUG guide has existed many years longer than Windows 11.

If you have not customised Preferences, Diagrams, Reports, Fact Sets, Queries, Plugins, etc, then you will not miss much.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

Post Reply