* Adding a generic source to FH7

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by janefrances » 17 Jan 2022 15:24

I've downloaded a trial version of the above with a view to upgrading to FH7 and after playing around with it for a couple of days decided I don't really want to use the templates as all of my sources were manually added using the Add Text to source option on the Facts Tab.

The only way I could find to add a source without using the templates was to do the following:

Click Alto Yellow Source button on the top of the focus screen and selected add New Generic Source from the drop down menu. I then filled in the Prepared Citation - Tabbed across to Text from Source - Show Source record & citation specific - Add text from source button at the bottom and select the Empty Text option, Is this right? Many thanks.

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 3657
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 17 Jan 2022 15:53

Have you seen Sources and Citations in Version 7 (for Upgraders)?

You may also find Customising V7 to use V6 (Simple) Style Sources useful.

There's nothing wrong with what you're doing if it suits you. There is another way to create a new Generic Source -- from the Source record window (right click on some empty space). New Source at this point automatically creates a Generic Source.

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Re: Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by janefrances » 17 Jan 2022 16:21

Thank you, I've looked at the two topics you mention, and tried to use the Customising V7 to use V6 (Simple style sources) but got stuck on:
' Set Height to Variable and adjust Weight ok but I didn't know what the weight to reflect the share of the vertical space meant.

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 3657
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 17 Jan 2022 16:32

From the Help file:
The weight (vertical weight this is) is normally a number between5 and 10. The higher the number the greater the height of the item. Bear in mind that the height will vary, depending on the available height - which is determined by the overall height of the Property Box. If a particular tab has 3 items which have variable height, and their respective weights are let us say 5, 3and 7 (which happen to make 15 in total), Family Historian will assign 5/15 of the available free height to the first item, 3/15to the second, and 7/15 to the third.

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Re: Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by janefrances » 17 Jan 2022 16:41

Sorry, I've got no idea what that means, :? Maybe I'll just leave things as they are! Lol. Thanks anyway.

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 3657
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Adding a generic source to FH7

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 17 Jan 2022 16:44

If you just leave that setting at its default value, it should be fine. (Unless you're really picky :D )

Post Reply