* Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
User avatar
jimlad68
Megastar
Posts: 734
Joined: 18 May 2014 21:01
Family Historian: V7
Location: Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK (but from Lancashire)
Contact:

Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by jimlad68 » 28 Feb 2021 13:57

I have finally taken to plunge to FHv7 although I do not think I will take advantage of many of the new features, but time will tell and the options are there, indeed, I find the new source "methods" far too complicated for my "keep it simple" methodology. Having said that I did not use many features of v6, e.g. pictures and maps. However at £10/year upgrade I am happy to upgrade as I like to keep with the latest software version as that is likely to better maintained both officially and via a forum like this.

But one thing I do look forward to is the extra floating Source/Citation (I never worked out the difference!) window. I have hit a navigation snag.
- I show sources at the bottom of the property box (or could be floating), and click on them so I can view concurrently in the Citation window. The problem is it always starts at the first tab, when the info I want is on the 2nd tab "text from source"
- Is there a way to make it open by default on the 2nd or any other tab?
- I suppose this mirrors the similar situation with the property box where fisrt time it always opens on the Main tab, when I would find it more useful to start on the Facts tab.
Similarly, is there a way to make that open by default on a another tab?

- HOWEVER, as regards the Citation window I have a workaround that might be better than the original that might be useful to others. Add the "Text from source" to the 1st "citation" tab.
- i.e. dropdown cog > customise citation window > select tab "Main (generic)" > add "text from source" > select "text from source" in RH pane > edit > make sure the height is variable [later EDIT: > adjust the "weight" for the relative size of the box] > OK > OK.
- This then displays the "text from source" in the first Citation tab. For my purposes, not only does this show the "text from source" on the default tab, but displays all I need to know about the Source/Citation.

I appreciate that many people use sources in a much more detailed/complicated manner, so might not be of much help to them.
Last edited by jimlad68 on 28 Feb 2021 20:53, edited 1 time in total.
Jim Orrell - researching: see - but probably out of date https://gw.geneanet.org/jimlad68

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 3397
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V7
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 28 Feb 2021 14:08

Thanks, Jim -- we document something similar at Customising V7 to use V6 (Simple) Style Sources, which might give you some other ideas to simplify things.

It isn't however possible to select a different default first tab on open.

User avatar
jimlad68
Megastar
Posts: 734
Joined: 18 May 2014 21:01
Family Historian: V7
Location: Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK (but from Lancashire)
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by jimlad68 » 28 Feb 2021 14:16

Thanks, Helen. I had not found that, very similar and would have set me on the right track. More experimentation with that info.
Jim Orrell - researching: see - but probably out of date https://gw.geneanet.org/jimlad68

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by tatewise » 28 Feb 2021 14:49

Just make sure you have chosen the desired Text From Source field.
Remember there is one in each Source record, and in each Citation, so which one do you use?

After you use Customize Citation Window... both options are listed on the left as Text from Source and Citation details: Text from Source respectively.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
jimlad68
Megastar
Posts: 734
Joined: 18 May 2014 21:01
Family Historian: V7
Location: Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK (but from Lancashire)
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by jimlad68 » 28 Feb 2021 17:09

Yes Mike, many options, but like I say many aspects of Source/Citations are too complicated for me, so empirical testing is important to make sure I have got the right thing! Not forgetting backups or cloned databases.

After reading Helen's link I have also added %SOUR.NOTE2[1]%. And in due course I might find more useful things to add.
Jim Orrell - researching: see - but probably out of date https://gw.geneanet.org/jimlad68

avatar
E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 1169
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V7
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by E Wilcock » 01 Mar 2021 12:21

I am still hopelessly lost with this. The changes suggested in this thread have already been made, some time ago.

The citation window opens, often showing a specific citation note.

If I delete or change that note does it edit the previous instances too or only the new one?

I have begun to put important source notes into the main Note field for the person so I dont risk loosing them if I delete them from the pane that pops up for the next person.

User avatar
jimlad68
Megastar
Posts: 734
Joined: 18 May 2014 21:01
Family Historian: V7
Location: Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK (but from Lancashire)
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by jimlad68 » 01 Mar 2021 14:27

E - I was a little confused when I first looked at FHv7, but as with most software updates they often take time to get used too. My biggest complaint these days is that many "updates" just seem to add bells and whistles and pictures and lose functionality and displayed detail, I suspect because they have made them compatible with mobile devices. FHv7 does not seem to have lost any functionality, but I agree, it seems more complicated.

So, as far as I can work out, "for me" the simplest way to continue with the old "generic/simple" sources is to:
(and apologies if this has been detailed before)
- action my HOWEVER above, and also action the link above from ColeValleyGirl to Customising V7 to use V6 (Simple) Style Sources

As regards what might or might not be lost when, I'm afraid the best solution is to experiment on a copied project.

I have not tried the new Ancestral Sources, but I hope I can still create Sources as I did before. As ever, one of my concerns is portability of data, so for instance I will not use any of the new FH data features, unless I know they are portable, or at least "be made" portable.

It is a pity that the Update did not leave the old functionality (in this case sources) as the standard, with the new functionality as an option, that would make migration so much easier.
Jim Orrell - researching: see - but probably out of date https://gw.geneanet.org/jimlad68

User avatar
NickWalker
Megastar
Posts: 1571
Joined: 02 Jan 2004 17:39
Family Historian: V7
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by NickWalker » 01 Mar 2021 14:36

I have not tried the new Ancestral Sources, but I hope I can still create Sources as I did before. As ever, one of my concerns is portability of data, so for instance I will not use any of the new FH data features, unless I know they are portable, or at least "be made" portable.
Yes you can. Although most of the focus in the new AS has been support for 'rich source text' - tables, formatting, etc. and also supporting source templates, you don't need to use them and can continue to use AS as you used to. AS 7 still works with older version of FH too.
Nick Walker
Ancestral Sources Developer

http://www.ancestralsources.com

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 11 Apr 2021 23:21

ColeValleyGirl wrote:
28 Feb 2021 14:08
Thanks, Jim -- we document something similar at Customising V7 to use V6 (Simple) Style Sources, which might give you some other ideas to simplify things.

It isn't however possible to select a different default first tab on open.
I am also struggling with this problem, went to the KB link as noted, and the first problem I run into is that there is no " Text from Source" in the list of available items. So now what?

I have two projects, one of which will be uploaded with changes to a website and requires absolute adherence to GEDCOM. Having the data in view will make it much easier to add my needed sources. The problem of displaying the source/citation pane/window/box/thingie?? seems unnecessarily complex.
Kathleen

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by tatewise » 11 Apr 2021 23:31

I've just had a look at those instructions and they have to be followed very carefully.

In Source Property Box and Citation Window you need to realise the first part is talking about Source Records.

So in the Records Window on the Sources tab open a Source record Property Box and its cog menu Customize Property Box…

Then in an Individual record Property Box with the Sources For yellow pane displayed open the floating Citation Window associated with a Source Citation and use its cog menu to Customize Citation Window…

In both those dialogues, there is a Text from Source option.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 12 Apr 2021 00:22

Well, duh, that makes a difference! I will definitely have to save these directions, though!

Thanks so much, Mike. :roll:
Kathleen

User avatar
jimlad68
Megastar
Posts: 734
Joined: 18 May 2014 21:01
Family Historian: V7
Location: Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK (but from Lancashire)
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by jimlad68 » 12 Apr 2021 11:24

Kathleen, if you look at my instructions after HOWEVER, combined with the link from Helen, (and as Mike says follow carefully, i.e. simple but specific), that took me to being able to work just as I did in FHv6. With this procedure you can also add any other fields you regularly use, so in that way is more useful than the old v6 window.
Jim Orrell - researching: see - but probably out of date https://gw.geneanet.org/jimlad68

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 12 Apr 2021 18:57

Thanks, Jim. I might be willing to try it, but I cannot find a "Customize Citation Window" (or is it a pane/box/thingie?? :) ) using any of the methods above. The instructions on the KB at least gives me a split window view - though the citation is still not visible without that annoying floating box.

The view I really wanted is one posted by Bill on the groups.io list (don't know how to post the image). It gives three columns, Focus Window/Property box split on the left, then Sources at top/Citation below to the right. This would be my ideal working environment. Bill was very helpful but again, I'm missing something in the detail and can't make it work.

At this point, I've wasted too much time trying to get my screen perfect, so I'll deal with it. I must say, though, that I have never had so much trouble trying to do such a simple thing and I am not ignorant when it comes to software. I used to recommend FH to others but doubt I will do so now without a warning.
Kathleen

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by tatewise » 12 Apr 2021 19:10

Have you got the floating Sources For yellow pane displayed, similar to FH V6 but without the Citation details?
If so then double-click the Citation text listed in that pane for any Source Citation.
Alternatively, click the yellow scroll with pen icon below and called Edit Source Citation.
By either method the floating Citation Window will open and that has a cog menu for Customize Citation Window...
That lets you display the details that would have appeared in the Sources For yellow pane in FH V6, but it also displays Source record details that are not so easily accessible in FH V6. You can leave this window open and it auto-updates with whatever Source Citation you select in the Sources For pane.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
BillH
Megastar
Posts: 1778
Joined: 31 May 2010 03:40
Family Historian: V7
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by BillH » 12 Apr 2021 19:43

Kathleen,

I'd be happy to try to get you set up. I think this is the image you were talking about.

image1.jpg
image1.jpg (167.72 KiB) Viewed 2599 times
At what point are you stuck? Did you manage to get the focus window and property box docked side by side? Did you manage to open the Sources For window as a floating window and resize it and place it next to the property box? How about the citation window... did you open it and resize it and position it under the Sources For window?

Let me know how far you got and I'd be happy to try to get you set up the way you want it.

Bill

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 12 Apr 2021 21:07

BillH wrote:
12 Apr 2021 19:43

At what point are you stuck? Did you manage to get the focus window and property box docked side by side? Did you manage to open the Sources For window as a floating window and resize it and place it next to the property box? How about the citation window... did you open it and resize it and position it under the Sources For window?
Yes, Focus and Property boxes are side by side.
Yes, Sources box is open/floating/resized.
Yes, Citation box is open/floating/resized. (Thanks Mike!)
No, I cannot get the Source and Citation boxes moved to the right of the Property box.
When I resize the Focus/Property box, the Focus box gets smaller, but the Property box is cemented to the right edge of the screen.
Kathleen

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 23172
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V7
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by tatewise » 12 Apr 2021 21:17

Make the main FH window smaller by dragging its righthand edge left.
Check Bill's screenshot carefully and you'll see that is what he has done.
If your FH window is full screen then click the Restore Down double boxes next to the X Close top right.
Then resize the window as required and move the yellow Sources and Citation windows outside the FH main window.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
BillH
Megastar
Posts: 1778
Joined: 31 May 2010 03:40
Family Historian: V7
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by BillH » 12 Apr 2021 21:19

Kathleen,

I'm not sure how the property box could be cemented to the right side of the screen if it is docked to the focus window.

Are your focus window and property box inside one window with the icons in the upper right hand corner looking like mine (which I've enclosed inside red boxes to highlight them) in my screen shot below?

image2.jpg
image2.jpg (122.02 KiB) Viewed 2573 times

Bill

Edit: I see Mike has replied with some excellent advice as well.

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 12 Apr 2021 21:44

Thank you both, Mike and Bill!

Obviously I was thinking only of FH formatting and not considering the windows in Windows. I've been using my iPad way toooo much. Sorry if I made this job too painful.

CP should be paying the Megastars on this forum.

Cheers,
Kathleen

User avatar
BillH
Megastar
Posts: 1778
Joined: 31 May 2010 03:40
Family Historian: V7
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by BillH » 12 Apr 2021 21:58

Kathleen,

Glad you got it working the way you want. I know I like this much better than having the floating citation window floating over the focus window and property box and obscuring them.

Bill

User avatar
kbella
Diamond
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Dec 2013 23:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Change default opening Tab for Citation floating window

Post by kbella » 12 Apr 2021 22:54

Bill,

Yes, I agree - I always felt like swatting the darn thing, but then I wanted to see it again within a few minutes.

Kathleen
Kathleen

Post Reply