* FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1363
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V7
Location: Spain
Contact:

FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by Valkrider » 09 Dec 2020 07:41

To any Mac / Linux users of FH due to the new functionality in FH v7 some of that functionality is not available in the emulators such as PlayOnMac / PlayOnLinux, Crossover and Wine. It is, however, fully functional in a VM.

avatar
Bundle
Platinum
Posts: 34
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 17:54
Family Historian: V7
Location: Wiltshire, England

Re: FH v7 and emulators WARNING

Post by Bundle » 09 Dec 2020 14:09

I've just installed F7 in Crossover. It is frustrating that the reports I've so far looked at just present as black sheets. There is a warning about this on the knowledge base - things to be aware of before installing. I would use Individual Summary Reports extensively so hope this is something that may get fixed soon. It was a challenge enough for me to get to grips with Crossover - I have not tried a virtual machine.... yet. But it is great that this new version is finally here for everyone.

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1363
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V7
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FH v7 and emulators WARNING

Post by Valkrider » 09 Dec 2020 15:56

If you save the report as RTF you can then view and edit it in Word / Pages etc.

avatar
Bundle
Platinum
Posts: 34
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 17:54
Family Historian: V7
Location: Wiltshire, England

Re: FH v7 and emulators WARNING

Post by Bundle » 09 Dec 2020 17:19

Thank you Colin

avatar
Bundle
Platinum
Posts: 34
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 17:54
Family Historian: V7
Location: Wiltshire, England

Re: FH v7 and emulators WARNING

Post by Bundle » 10 Dec 2020 14:31

A couple of issues found when using Crossover (v19.0.2).

Tables in Notes are not working. Inserting a table produces a tiny grid and typing just overwrites in same cell and then cursor leaves table entirely.

Sources - Citation Data Entry: Text typed into blank fields just completely overwrites the field names.

Both issues reported to Calico Pie who have logged issue - to be looked at by Codeweavers.
Attachments
Lytton_1.jpg
Lytton_1.jpg (132.92 KiB) Viewed 3518 times

avatar
Bundle
Platinum
Posts: 34
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 17:54
Family Historian: V7
Location: Wiltshire, England

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by Bundle » 11 Dec 2020 20:48

Reported to Calico Pie today, further issue running under Crossover 20.0.2 (also same with v 19) using Mac OS Catalina:

Choosing any source template instantly makes FH7 crash. Have to use Force Quit to exit completely.
The first tab of a source/citation entry screen is always fine. Data goes where it should.
It is the second tab, TEXT FROM SOURCE, that seems to have most issues.
Now find that selecting ANY of the following templates makes FH7 crash:
Censuses UK, USA and Canada
Marriage Certificate generic template
The only template that does not cause a crash on opening is Baptism Generic. But, that has issues of data you type overwriting the field names, as previously reported.

Good news is that the EMPTY TEXT option does let you type data without problem and can add formatting e.g. bold, italic, bullets etc. As reported before though, tables do not work.

CP say Codeweavers will be working on issues now FH7 is released.

I do like what I see, I think the templates and source screens will be very helpful.
To have the new formatting options for notes etc is great.
Especially like seeing the footnote, bibliography screens being populated as you type the source data.

avatar
KMTV
Silver
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Dec 2020 18:32
Family Historian: V7

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by KMTV » 28 Dec 2020 18:36

My father has been trying to run FH v7 on his iMac via Parallels, but is experiencing the screen to be flickering when trying to load content. Could this be a related problem or something entirely different?

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1363
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V7
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by Valkrider » 28 Dec 2020 21:43

That is likely to be something different. Parallels is not an emulator but a Virtual Machine as you need a full copy of Windows. It soulds like a video driver problem with Parallels.

avatar
GeoffR
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Mar 2021 12:46
Family Historian: V7

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by GeoffR » 02 Mar 2021 12:59

I'm using FH.7.02 via Crossover/Wine on MBP16 running BigSur 11.2.2 and really enjoying the experience, especially being able to move around a diagram with the touchpad (I don't use a mouse).

This thread was a great relief to find out that other users were having a few similar problems.

One of mine is the where the Notes Records are not showing correctly.

I really hope that CP and Crossover can resolve these niggles soon!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 12.39.04.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 12.39.04.jpg (250.12 KiB) Viewed 1316 times

User avatar
mjashby
Megastar
Posts: 586
Joined: 23 Oct 2004 10:45
Family Historian: V7
Location: Yorkshire

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by mjashby » 02 Mar 2021 17:25

GeoffR,

That display looks as if you are starting your Notes with a Blank first line (Carriage Return). You would get something very similar in Windows 'proper', minus the 'square box' which is a non-printing Carriage Return character that appears under Crossover/Wine and IME was (is) the same in FH6 and earlier.

The only test formatting features that I've found definitely don't work under Crossover/Wine are Tables which are a complete disaster. So, it appears there is something in the RTF Table implementation that Crossover/Wine can't cope with.

Mervyn

avatar
GeoffR
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Mar 2021 12:46
Family Historian: V7

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by GeoffR » 04 Mar 2021 22:09

Mervyn,

Thank you so much. There was indeed a hidden carriage return character at the start of each line (presumably inserted by Crossover when I imported the GED file from FH6 on Windows 10). I simply placed my cursor at the beginning of the first line, hit carriage return on the key board, and then two backspace-delete and hey presto, the text appeared as it should do.

You have been very helpful, thanks again.

Geoff

User avatar
mjashby
Megastar
Posts: 586
Joined: 23 Oct 2004 10:45
Family Historian: V7
Location: Yorkshire

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by mjashby » 04 Mar 2021 22:24

Geoff,

Glad you got it sorted.

Mervyn

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1363
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V7
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by Valkrider » 26 Mar 2021 14:38

With the release of v7.0.3 of Family Historian the major issue with running FH on Crossover has been resolved in that reports now display correctly on the screen. I have successfully installed it on a Mac running Mojave and Crossover V20.04 in a 64bit Windows 7 bottle. I have yet to confirm that AS runs in the same bottle.

The same good news does not apply to PlayOnMac though as the installation locks up when installing the Nova PDF driver and a useable bottle is not created. I have raised this as an issue with CP and also created a wish list item to make the driver installation optional as it is not needed by Windows 10 users now or Mac users.

User avatar
mjashby
Megastar
Posts: 586
Joined: 23 Oct 2004 10:45
Family Historian: V7
Location: Yorkshire

Re: FH v7 and windows emulators WARNING

Post by mjashby » 26 Mar 2021 17:09

Colin,

It seems to be working for me having FH and AS in the same Prefix (Bottle), but I wouldn't say I've tested all AS features extensively as I tend to do most of my Sourcing work in a Windows System/Windows Virtual Machine. Most Rich Text features work under Crossover/Wine with the notable exception of 'Tables', but Tables in AS do seem to 'partially' work under Wine on Linux, i.e. in my attempt so far, data can be entered and appear correctly, but the Table Formats/Structures can't be edited. There is clearly something 'different' in the way Tables have been implemented in FH7 as I tried using Tables in two RTF Word Processors in Crossover & Wine and they can be managed without any problem.

I'm thinking of experimentally installing FH7 in Linux/Wine for testing as I do have a 'spare' License but haven't haven't taken the plunge so far as there are simply 'too many options', i.e. Linux/Wine variants to choose from.

Mervyn

Post Reply