Page 1 of 1

Given names and Surnames

Posted: 18 Oct 2020 11:02
by redvanman
I just noticed that the names of individuals in my project are recorded in two ways:
  • Names of individuals that I imported have a given name record and a surname record (presumably because the imported GEDCOM was coded this way.
  • Names that I typed into FH myself do not.
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (23.42 KiB) Viewed 408 times
I have worked with this data for several years, and FH seems to pick out the parts of the name successfully, whichever way the names are recorded.
So my question is - should I care? Are there any hidden benefits/pitfalls from working one way or the other?

Thanks
Alyn

Re: Given names and Surnames

Posted: 18 Oct 2020 11:43
by tatewise
FH does not use the Given and Surname fields. They only exist for GEDCOM 5.5 compatibility.
FH only uses the Name field to determine Given /Surname/ details.

If you check the Name > more (+)... details then Given and Surname are not offered. They only exist on the All tab.

Those fields would have been imported from another product and can be safely deleted.

After importing from another product it is important to perform an in-depth review of the data and remove any anomalies.

Re: Given names and Surnames

Posted: 18 Oct 2020 13:34
by redvanman
Thanks Mike,
I will delete these records

ALyn