* Given names and Surnames

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
redvanman
Platinum
Posts: 39
Joined: 10 Jun 2010 10:51
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Dalbeattie, Kirkcudbrightshire

Given names and Surnames

Post by redvanman » 18 Oct 2020 11:02

I just noticed that the names of individuals in my project are recorded in two ways:
  • Names of individuals that I imported have a given name record and a surname record (presumably because the imported GEDCOM was coded this way.
  • Names that I typed into FH myself do not.
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (23.42 KiB) Viewed 156 times
I have worked with this data for several years, and FH seems to pick out the parts of the name successfully, whichever way the names are recorded.
So my question is - should I care? Are there any hidden benefits/pitfalls from working one way or the other?

Thanks
Alyn

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18919
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Given names and Surnames

Post by tatewise » 18 Oct 2020 11:43

FH does not use the Given and Surname fields. They only exist for GEDCOM 5.5 compatibility.
FH only uses the Name field to determine Given /Surname/ details.

If you check the Name > more (+)... details then Given and Surname are not offered. They only exist on the All tab.

Those fields would have been imported from another product and can be safely deleted.

After importing from another product it is important to perform an in-depth review of the data and remove any anomalies.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
redvanman
Platinum
Posts: 39
Joined: 10 Jun 2010 10:51
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Dalbeattie, Kirkcudbrightshire

Re: Given names and Surnames

Post by redvanman » 18 Oct 2020 13:34

Thanks Mike,
I will delete these records

ALyn

Post Reply