Page 1 of 1

Add a new source

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 13:54
by E Wilcock
Is it possible in fh to add a new source record without connecting it to a previously created person, event or attribute?

When I receive an email about family history I like to add it with its text to my genealogy software. I have just had an email that relates to a family with the same surname but from a different village and I want to keep it on file.

Re: Add a new source

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 14:06
by Valkrider
Yes it is dead easy to do.

One way is menu Add > Source

You can also create it from the Auto Source Citation icon on the tool bar.

Re: Add a new source

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 14:07
by ColeValleyGirl
Anywhere in the programme, go to Add on the Menu and select Source. The source you add will not be linked to anything.

Re: Add a new source

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 14:10
by tatewise
OR in the Records Window on the Sources tab, right-click on any unused area of main pane and choose New Source.
This technique works for any type of record.

Re: Add a new source

Posted: 15 Aug 2019 06:38
by E Wilcock
Thank you all so much. I found the Add menu solution directly after posting and was going to post to apologise. I had a blank moment.
But I didnt know the right click method in the sources list (which is where I was) so thank you for that, Mike.