* GEDCOM - Sharing Functions on FH Research/Website

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
ermintrude
Silver
Family Historian: V6

GEDCOM - Sharing Functions on FH Research/Website

Post by ermintrude »

I have been using Version 5 for several years and my family tree contains over 10,000 individuals. I plan to continue research myself and pass the web upload function to my daughter. We both plan to use Version 6.
Hence 5 or 6 times a year, I wish to transfer research updates to my daughter to incorporate into the website. The GEDCOM process seems to cater for this although I suspect it also offers many pitfalls for the unwary.
Having exported an opening position (as used to create the current website) to my daughter, I am assuming that future exports will simply update/overwrite her previous pages and be instantly ready for a fresh FTP upload.
Is this correct please? I recognise the need to back up as a precaution.
Regards
Tony
tatewise
Megastar
Family Historian: V7

Re: GEDCOM - Sharing Functions on FH Research/Website

Post by tatewise »

Tony, I have moved this to the FH General Usage Forum because it does not involve "Importing from or exporting to another genealogy program.

It is not clear whether you daughter will also be adding research updates of her own to her copy of the Project.
It is also not clear whether you wish to include Media images in the research updates.
You also need to ensure that any Reports or Diagrams included in the website and the Create a Website Wizard have the same customisations on both your PC and your daughter's PC.

If you will both be performing research updates, then after sending your Project with its GEDCOM, then your daughter must perform a File > Merge/Compare File to integrate the two sets of research.