* Surname query

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1270
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Surname query

Post by Valkrider » 30 Oct 2018 14:40

I have a custom query that gives me the surnames of everyone in my file.

However, needless to say there are many rows in the result set that are identical is there any way to 'group by' in the query so that I only have one row per surname? I have been doing this in Excel up till now but it would be easier to do this in FH.

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7984
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: Surname query

Post by Jane » 30 Oct 2018 14:48

Surname Summary Report from Plugin Store.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1270
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Surname query

Post by Valkrider » 30 Oct 2018 15:49

Thanks very much @Jane I was doing trying to do something similar to this with a query.

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7984
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: Surname query

Post by Jane » 30 Oct 2018 16:05

Queries by their nature always have one record per line (or one per fact for fact Queries), you need to use Plugin result sets if you want to combine multiple records.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
Valkrider
Megastar
Posts: 1270
Joined: 04 Jun 2012 19:03
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Surname query

Post by Valkrider » 30 Oct 2018 18:38

I was hoping there was something like 'group by' which is standard in SQL queries.

Post Reply