* Running on 2 PCs

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
PeterRush
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Aug 2018 06:26
Family Historian: V6
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Running on 2 PCs

Post by PeterRush » 04 Aug 2018 06:34

HI
I have fH running on my desk PC and my wife is going into hospital on Monday and I want to run fH on my portable and then transfer the data to the desk PC. Can I run two copies of fH using my registration?
Thanks
Peter

avatar
Tony Jones
Platinum
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Oct 2016 09:27
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Berkshire, England
Contact:

Re: Running on 2 PCs

Post by Tony Jones » 04 Aug 2018 07:44

As long as you don’t use simultaneously. I do it all the time. There are guides on synchronisation here, I use cloud storage, there are other options.
Using an iMac via Parallels/Win 10 64-bit and a MacBook via WINE

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16320
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Running on 2 PCs

Post by tatewise » 04 Aug 2018 09:47

Welcome to the FHUG. Yes, you can do that, but there are some pitfalls.

So see the Knowledge Base > Family Historian V5 & V6 Migration Guide for full details.

The relevant FH Licence terms are Knowledge Base > Licence Agreement.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

Post Reply