* FH V6 on Mac using Crossover

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
IreneMo
Silver
Family Historian: V6.2

FH V6 on Mac using Crossover

Post by IreneMo » 04 Oct 2015 18:24

Hi,

I've been using FH for a few years on a PC and have now went on to a MacBook Air a few days ago. I'm not very PC literate, don't use plug-ins (yet!) but by following the very useful notes on the V6 on Mac with Crossover I have managed to get FH installed and working on the Mac. Good so far.

However, I got confused on the location of the files, under Program Configuration

All the Family Historian and Ancestral Sources settings below should specify a similar path, usually to the My Documents folder, and all the named folders and files must actually exist. It is advisable to create the folders using Crossover or Wine rather than within FH or AS.

FH File > Project Window > Location
FH Tools > Preferences > Startup > Default Startup File
FH Tools > Preferences > Backup > Default Backup Folder

I'm not sure I understand this. I presume I cannot follow the above 3 actually in FH package and if not how do I do this within Crossover. Apologies, this must seem so simple but I'm new to all this.

All I have the files for 3 projects in FH on a usb from my PC. Where exactly should I load these to see these on opening up FH. Normally I would put them the the FH Project Files but I can't see this on the mac as to where the sample project even is stored.

Thanks

Irene

tatewise
Megastar
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: FH V6 on Mac using Crossover

Post by tatewise » 04 Oct 2015 20:17

Welcome to the FHUG, Irene.