* Create New Tab or Customize

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
kimday12
Family Historian: V5

Create New Tab or Customize

Post by kimday12 »

Hello All,

I am still very new to genealogy software and genealogy in general. I am trying to pick up where my grandmother left off on paper and enter into Family Historian 5.

I have actually two questions. 1 is about a plugin and 1 I'm not so sure of.

The first question is about customizing the tabs so that I can enter information the way I want or do I need to figure out how to write my own plugins? For instance, anything with an address, can I make it more specific? I would like it to be able to do name of the place (hospital, college, etc.) and then street address (actually two lines for street address) and then county, and then state, and then zip code, and then country. And this is only for the U.S. address; as I move along to England, Ireland, Norway, and Germany, I may need to add some things depending on what is needed.

The second question may not belong here at all, but I'll try. I have a niece and nephew who's father is my brother. He has children by two different women (unfortunately for them). I have figured out how to link them by my brother and have the different mothers, but when I click on either child, it does not show they have a sibling. If I then click add a sibling and link the existing record, the linked child then shows twice; once under the correct mother and once under the incorrect mother. I know they are half-siblings, but they see each other as siblings and live together. I will have this problem soon with a cousin who has married twice with children by both husbands. Is there a way to make this correct?

Thank you so much for all your time reading my post and any help you give.

Kim
Jane
Site Admin