Today I received an email with my own email address on!! On being curious that I did not send myself an email I opened it and it was selling me some pills. Then I received a message purporting to come from Family Historian Users saying "you have been unsubsribed from the Family Historian Users List" If this is incorrect please send email to :-
"FAMILY-HISTORIAN-USERS-admin@rootsweb.com" I never asked to be unsubscribed !!! Is this also a scam ?? I have put this in also to warn others I would be grateful if the admin ie Jane etc would confirm or otherwise my removal and that the address above is a Good address. And if so the reason why I have been unsubscribed John
E-mail is notoriously easily to fake in many ways. It is quite easy for a Spam/Phishing E-mail to use a fake From address, that is different from the actual sender's address. There are techniques in most E-mail software to check where an E-mail actually comes from, but it can get quite technical.
So the E-mail selling pills, with your E-mail From address, is almost certainly faked.
The FHU unsubscribed E-mail may be a fake too, or just coincidental. The FAMILY-HISTORIAN-USERS-admin@rootsweb.com address is correct as listed on the web page reached by following the Main Menu Mailing List link top left i.e. http://www.fhug.org.uk/maillist.php.
Mike Tate is researching the TATE and SCOTT family tree and all relations.
Thank you ALL of you for your help. I have noted that the Rootsweb address is correct and thank you Jane for adding me back in again. I have been with AOL and FHUG for many years and never had this problem before. John
This web site was made with WebAPP v0.9.9.3.3, a web portal system written in Perl
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their
respective owners. Comments are owned by the Poster.
Marble theme based on "Crash" theme by my2cents